We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good however needs a wee bit TLC”
other travellers have booked this property
Holmedale from the hillside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holmedale from the hillside
Bedroom 2 The outside kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Holmedale from the hillside
Bedroom 2
The outside kitchen
Woodburning stove  in the living room
The other side of the front door
Master bedroom
The Bolts snickelway
Exterior
Bedroom 2
Patio in the sun
The bunks - full singles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
50andfabu...
Otley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, some good points but.....”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the cottage. We went as a couple and were met by 2 friends part way through the week. We also has our cocker spaniel with us as this cottage is one of the very few in the bay to accept dogs. We booked direct with Julian ( the owner) on www.holmedalecottage.co.uk

The cottage does have some outside space in the way of a south facing patio. However it is not huge as suggested on the owners website. It is just big enough for a small table and 4 chairs. It is quite untidy with cracked paving and lots of weeds but it is usable. The patio is directly opposite the cottage with a access way to the row of cottages between. All the other patios seemed to be gated off but this was not, so it was difficult to contain our dog if we were on the patio. The patio overlooks the Fisherhead car park and common land opposite. There is a 20ft drop over the fence on the patio. As the fence is less than waist high this might be an issue if you have small children.

There is a fence between you and next door with a pretty grape vine. However this does not afford much privacy. The neighbours are a couple in their late thirties with a small baby and a very territorial staffie that live in the cottage on a permanent basis. They also have the kitchen in an outhouse on their patio. It did not make for a peaceful setup. Lots of comings and goings back and forth, a very snarly dog trying to get through the fence, a small child left outside in its pram crying, and the LOUD music played from the kitchen. We had brought lots of food and drink, planning to cook, read and generally enjoy the good weather sitting on the patio. We did long walks each day but when we returned to the cottage found that very soon loud music would be playing from next door. On some occasions it lasted half an hour but on others went on for hours. We were unable to hear each other speak. The cottage gets sun until 7pmish on the patio so it was lovely on the one occasion we were alone to enjoy this. On most evenings we ended up retiring to the pub or to the common ground opposite with a bottle of wine and a rug to escape the noise. It was my partners 50th birthday whilst away and a BBQ was planned and friends invited ,but 2 hours before there was earsplitting music playing again as we returned to the cottage with supplies. My partner politely had a word and requested it to be turned down in time for the BBQ. Luckily when we returned all was quiet. The female of the couple then took it upon herself to loudly complain to another neighbour as she left that we had asked her to leave (which we hadn't) , and that she had tried to play loud music to get rid of us but we wouldn't go!! I am sorry that she found us sitting on the patio such a bother but this did feel rather unfair as we were only talking quietly and reading. The weather was glorious and it would have been a shame to not sit outside. Perhaps you will have better luck with them! There are a few permanent residents (3,4) on the row and whilst not overly friendly, were at least not as inconsiderate as those at number 7.

The kitchen is located in a small outhouse across from the cottage. It is quite well equipped with a normal size electric hob and oven. There is a table and 4 chairs but not really room to sit in the kitchen. There is no storage space for anything and it does feel very cramped if there is more than one of you in there. There is also limited head space which may be a problem if you are over 5ft8. My 6ft partner whacked his head a few times on the beam! It was ok as the weather was so lovely to have the front door and kitchen door open and keep popping back and forth. But I imagine in winter this is decidedly less fun. There is also the potential to lock yourself out or the keys in as both parts have the house are yale locked.

Both of the larger bedrooms are a good size and both have very comfortable kingsize mattresses. The smaller bedroom has 2 full size single mattresses as bunk beds. The mattresses and mattress toppers seem great but the rest of the bedding is horrid. Cheap lumpy pillows with no pillow protectors, and no mattress protectors. Synthetic mix well worn and stained bedding. It had obviously been washed and ironed but was not inviting. A strange mix with the expensive mattresses. We went straight out and bought new bedding so I suggest you bring a spare set. No black out blinds or linings to the pale fabric curtains meant we were wide awake at 5am. There is no wardrobe to the first floor bedroom, just some hooks on the wall. There is a chest of drawers but the were full of dust and hairs so I didn't use them.

The shower and heating system work fine. The shower is quite powerful in fact. However the bathroom was grubby and needing attention. Black sealant round the bath, stained tile grout and a sink coming away from the wall did not make it seem looked after.

The cottage is badly decorated with cheap magnolia paint which is very marked throughout. Lots of large cracks to the walls and tile floors in the lounge and kitchen that desperately need a good steam clean. Previous reviews have stated that the cottage really needs a good clean and unfortunately this is all true. It is also hugely cluttered with hundreds of yellowing novels, battered board games and random bits of tat. They do not give it character as the owner believes. They collect dust and take up any available storage in a what is a small cottage. It's a shame because with a better cleaner and some tlc, it could be so much better. But I would not recommend or return. There is much better in the bay if you book ahead.

For example, the cottage at number 5 The Bolts which is called Abbotsbury, looks lovely. It is twice the size as Holmedale cottage, has a very large gated patio area over several levels that is much more private. It is also slightly cheaper in price to rent and much better maintained from what we saw. It doesn't allow dogs but if you don't need that, it is easily the nicest cottage I saw.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nasty Neighbours!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Oh dear, when your boyfriend said you had OCD I rather hoped you'd be one of the nice ones that they have on the Channel 4 programmes. Never mind.
Of course we didn't hear a peep of complaint from you during your week, but that might have ruined your fun.
The patio "just big enough for a table and 4 small chairs" would be pretty easy to fit 24 chairs and several tables! Anyway future guests can check the photographs and see what they think.
Seems as though you did upset the neighbours though... why can't we all just get along?

And yes, I do supply books and games. You don't have to read them. You don't have to play them.
Inside, there are two dining tables and ten dining chairs altogether (plus the outside garden chairs).
There are brand-new luxury mattress protectors that I delivered myself a month ago and a spare in the ottoman because I brought too many, as well as memory foam mattress toppers, as well as new mattresses.
Only the first floor bedroom doesn't have a wardrobe, it has a very large chest of drawers and separate hanging space.
The heating system is state-of-the-art NEST thermostat wi-fi controlled.
The cottage was decorated in February 2015. The "cheap magnolia paint" is not cheap magnolia paint. It is the highest quality scratch resistant "Tuff" paint that money can buy. And I think the decorator did a great job. He is a lovely chap who takes great pride in his work. You may not like the colour magnolia but it keeps it bright and fresh.
And really now... there's just no need to be quite so unkind, is there?
Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location good but feeling tired and neglected”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Location of this cottage is great and bedrooms and bathroom are fine. However the lounge / kitchen areas are in need of a deep clean and some tlc as they are in showing lots of signs of wear and age. Unable to use the patio due to over flowing bins and bramble bushes in need of chopping back. It's a shame as with a bit more effort this place would be lovely but currently it does feel neglected and in need of a refresh and given this I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it until this is done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: Feels tired. Unable to use patio due to overflowing bins / garden over grown.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelina...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good however needs a wee bit TLC”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This cottage is very well equipped and a wee bit quirky given the Kitchen is in a separate out building, but that just added to its character. The beds and seating were quite comfy, however the cottage itself needs a bit of tender loving care as in a lick of paint, and maybe a stair gate on top floor as kids would probably use the bunk beds. We had to buy 3 mugs as some of the mugs and dishes were cracked or chipped. There was chair pads and a door mat in the kitchen and these could definitely do with a good wash or replacing as they are badly stained and dirty. These small issues could be easily addressed as it really is a fab location and a really nice cottage.We had a really nice time there and Robin Hoods Bay is just lovely. The beach is about 5min walk down hill, and there are many other interesting walks. There is a few nice shops and a few hotels which are very traditional. The locals are very friendly and proud of their bay and its history. I would have no hesitation recommending this cottage if issues mentioned are addressed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cottage needs a lick of paint and some new crockery.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loumilli
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in great location”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just had a fantastic stay here - 3 adults plus dog. The cottage is very cute & ticks all of the boxes in terms of setting, amenities & value. Lovely wood burning fire in the lounge for when it gets a bit nippy in the evenings. Little terrace for breakfast/sundowners. Lounge/dining space might be a bit tight if there were 6 adults but perfect for half-capacity or adults with children. Would highly recommend & Julian the owner is super-friendly & helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulineOn...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely quaint and cosy cottage very very close to all you could need.”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Had a lovely time in this cottage, was a little disappointed at first with the amenities till we realised the kitchen was in a separate building! However this did not cause a problem at all once we found it. The facilities were excellent and we were very warm and cosy. It could not be much nearer to the shop so that was very convenient and the shop is actually not bad value at all. Would definitely recommend and will revisit if we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Top bedroom and log burner.
Liked least: Shower leaked a little bit through ceiling in lounge when my son used it as he didn't get the screen in the right place.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing