We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“You won't be dissapointed with aanything. The location, The bedrooms. The food, the staff and The host, David! Really really all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You won't be dissapointed with aanything. The location, The bedrooms. The food, the staff and The host, David! Really really all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

On arrival up a quiet cobbled street, close to the heart of Richmond and at the gateway to the Dales, we found The Frenchgate, and what a find. You know when you are sat at home, wondering, hoping to find that place that is just right for that special few days away, the brain is working overtime to pick the right place.....well let me assure youn you won't be dissapointed if our experience is anything to go on. From the moment arrived we were made to feel at home. The staff we incredibly curteous and attentive and the modern room with ultra contempory bathroom was a great suprise. Dinner was wonderful, a real experince. We went for 'the flight' and let our incredibly knowledgeable host talk us through a wine for each course which was a great experince, in fact we dined in for the second night of our stay too which was real testimant to our experince on our first night. An all round winnern you can go wrong. Stop reading reviews now and just book it, any bad reviews that may have been posted are, in our opinion, grossly misjudged, we had a special experince thanks to all at the Frenchgate hotel!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooks-glynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    95
    29
    24
    10
See reviews for
71
404
35
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just stayed for the dinner bed and breakfast offer of £69 in January, we were greeted by Clare, the wonderful ever so helpful receptionist. She has first hand knowledge of the area and took us to our room to show us all the gadgets, heated slate floor in the bathroom, temperature controlled heating in the room, super large tv opposite the 7ft, yes 7ft bed and fantastic lighting. We were then advised that as we had booked for evening dinner at 7.30pm, that pre dinner drinks will be served in the lounge.

After a leisurely walk around Richmond and a lovely hot shower we dressed for the meal. We were once again greeted by Clare who escorted us to the lounge. Here we met David the owner, he assisted us with our choices of the food and wine, throughout the evening David and his team could not do enough for us, the food is to die for, we have eaten in some top eateries but this is world class eating at a fraction of the cost.

Thank you for a wonderful weekend with first class service. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the London room, 7ft bed, heated wet room with a shower big enough for 2 people!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I booked the Mousey Thompson suite for my husbands 50th birthday and we weren't disappointed. The fire was lit, champagne on ice, very romantic. The remote control for the shower was fun - shower was hot and running before I left the bed. The evening meal was wonderful. The steak was cooked to perfection and wine pairing a must. David was an amazing host, staff brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelmasterTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My partner stayed here in between Christmas and New year, we had recently just had a baby (the week previous!) and wanted some much needed R and R! And boy did we get it!!!!
As we have 2 other children and a babysitter already in Richmond this was perfect, we rang and booked the night prior and was introduced to David the Hotels owner, he wowed us with his description of the hotel and offered us the honeymoon suite with it being a special night away... We jumped at the chance. When we arrived the next day David was there to personally greet us which also impressed us then showed us to the most "out of this world" room!! From the moment we opened the room it took our breath away, the most impressive bed which was exceptionally comfy to the fire with sitting area and then the bathroom which had a remote control operated shower?! The suite even had a wihirpool bath in too ( although we didn't use). David and his team even added little touches in the bathroom of large white fluffy towels and the white company toiletries.
We had opted to dine in the restaurant which was AMAZING!! From the choice of food to presentation, we were totally amazed!
The overall impression was Fantastic and will defiantly be back!!!!
Thankyou for such an amazing experience and we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrmmyyummymummy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We held our wedding at the wonderful Frenchgate Hotel at the end of October 11. We have eaten and stayed at the Frenchgate before and never considered anywhere else for our special day. Right from the start of planning, we asked David to take complete control and he basically put the whole hotel at our disposal. This included plenty of meetings beforehand where David eased us through all of the usual wedding planning dramas such as menus, flowers etc. We used Lucy Hutton-Smith for the flowers as she is David's resident florist at the hotel and she matched the hotel's flowers to Annie's perfectly. David, ably assisted by his extremely talented Chef (Ross) provided us with numerous menu options and then David matched the wines to our choice perfectly.
On the day, David and his staff worked tirelessly to prepare the hotel after a normal night's custom and as we arrived at lunchtime the hotel was completely prepared for the wedding. We held the ceremony in the relaxed atmosphere of the sitting room - an extremely intimate occasion fitting the small family affair we were looking for, before taking our places at the wonderful dining table. The food was excellent - I have eaten in michelin starred restaurants before but nothing touches the Frenchgate for taste. The proof of the pudding is that all 14 of our guests have nothing but praise for the food and wine (this ranging from a 5 year old to an 82 year old).
Throughout the day, David, Rebecca and the rest of the staff were incredibly attentive and made our whole family feel like royalty. All too soon it was time to retire to the fabulous rooms. They are all tastefully decorated with a mix of traditional furniture and contemporary fittings - the bathrooms are spectacular. Our wedding night was spent in the remarkable Mousey Thompson Suite which is worth a stay once in your lifetime. Everyone has mentioned the beds and how comfortable they are. All of our guests thoroughly enjoyed the occassion and the experience of staying at the Frenchgate, especially the way that David handled the whole event - he is a true expert in his field and has an abundance of enthusiasm. The following morning we enjoyed a true Yorkshire breakfast and were waved off by David and Rebecca.
We could not have hoped for a more special day for our wedding and cannot thank David, Rebecca, Ross, Lucy and all the girls enough for the best day of our lives.

Room Tip: All of them are brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.3 km away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
7.5 km away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
33.1 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.0 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
21.8 km away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.4 km away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#3 of 50 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Property: The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Address: 59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,216 - ₹ 18,912
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quality of food and menus at the Frenchgate reflect the passion and enthusiasm of the staff. Care is taken to source ingredients locally wherever possible and all our food is all prepared to order. Start with a selection of homemade breads, starters of hand dived scallops, Whitby white crab or carpaccio of local beef, then maybe a loin of Yorkshire lamb together with a confit of shoulder, a fillet of pan roasted halibut cooked to perfection, local game or one of our delicious vegetarian options. Our bar and wine lists match the quality and value of our food. Choose from our superb house recommendations or unique “wine flight” to classic and unusual new world offerings. As well as a range of fine spirits and liqueurs befitting the independent and non corporate feel of The Frenchgate, you can also enjoy a range of both local bottle conditioned ales, and imported beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel Richmond, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing