We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Building within Beautiful Grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monk Fryston
Middleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning Building within Beautiful Grounds”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

It took me by suprise how lovely the building was.. from the outside, and although the interior is a little tired I would recommend this as a venue for any function, if there is no more than 50 guest's, as the function room is rather small. Bar prices were noT reasonable averaging for a gin and tonic and a martini and lemonade coming in at just over £10.

Room Tip: Take your own booze and drink it before you go downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkd128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    192
    97
    32
    31
See reviews for
93
297
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liversedge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I had the pleasure of being at this lovely hotel for my son's wedding , the staff were all very friendly and helpful to all the guests , they also were very supportive to my son and daughter-in-law in the build up to the wedding and during there special day, the rooms were very warm and welcoming, everything you need for a stay there wither it be one night or a week,the grounds are so beautiful for pics of your wedding day, the food was second to none, so a big thanks to all the staff and hope to come see you again.

thanks from Rosie

Room Tip: room 26 was my room , any room would be good as I saw a few on my visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieanne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed here with my wife for a friends wedding, lovely grounds and wonderful building. Our room was very nice and the bed very big and comfy. I have to agree with other reviews reception is a nightmare to find to check in and the rooms are signed that well. But all in all very nice

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I was booked in here for one night, as I was attending a business meeting very close by I normally end up in a travel inn, but the proximity of this was attractive and I got a great deal of £60.50 for single occupancy of a double room - including breakfast.

The hotel is charming, all old wood and traditional decor. It is a little tired in places, but clean and comfortable.

The hotel is let down by lots of little things that in themselves aren't really a problem, but together build some disappointment.

I arrived at 5.30, looking forward to something to eat. After struggling to find reception due to a terrible lack of signage, I was told dinner in the bar and in the restaurant start at 7pm. This seems exceptionally late to me and if I'd known, I'd have stopped en route instead of rushing to get here for dinner time. I was checked in and given very little information other than where my room was. No information about breakfast times, or offer of help with luggage etc. Again I followed practically non existent signage to my room. Not the best check in experience I've ever had.

Reading the information about room service, it informed me breakfast room service was available til 9.30am. But no information about the other room service menu. I decide to wait and have dinner in the bar. Looking forward to my steak pie, I head for the bar at 7pm. When I eventually found it (does this place have something against signage????) all the (half dozen) tables are full. Some warning about how busy the bar can get for dinner would be good.

I'm not dressed for the posh dinner room so I resign myself to room service after all. There lies the next problem. "Dial 200 for room service" the menu tells me. I go to the phone - or at least I would if I could find it. Turns out my room has no phone. So I have to go back down to reception to order room service. Kind of defeats the purpose really. I will say though, when it came it was absolutely delicious and piping hot.

Reading other reviews regarding price, I would agree that for a rate of much more than £100 for a couple in this room, I'd feel ripped off. I also get the feeling, everyone here assumes you know where you are going and what you are doing. I felt like I was intruding in someone's house for most of my stay!

Room Tip: I was in room 3. It had a four poster bed and is a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambleton, Selby
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I've dined here on a numerous of occasions, I even got married here, and of course, we have our wedding anniversary and christmas party meal here every year.

The service is of top quality. The staff can do enough for you, they make the whole experience amazing.

The food is scrumptious, portion sizes are just right and the quality..... Brilliant.

The wine is delicious.

The room we stayed in for our wedding night, was beautiful and huge. As for the other rooms I can not say since I have never seen them.

I can not state just how much I love this place - this is how eating out is supposed to be.

Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyrocker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monk Fryston
12.2 km away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
5.4 km away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
14.9 km away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
17.9 km away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
29.0 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monk Fryston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monk Fryston Hall Hotel

Property: Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Address: Monk Fryston LS25 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Monk Fryston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monk Fryston
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,884 - ₹ 10,695
Hotel Class:3 star — Monk Fryston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Monk Fryston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing