We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probus Club of Castle Donington Holiday 22nd - 27th April 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probus Club of Castle Donington Holiday 22nd - 27th April 2012”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Feedback from our members following our recent holiday.

"Hotel was excellent - best ever"

"Hotel and food were both excellent"

"Everything passed along with a friendly and happy atmosphere - most enjoyable"

"Manager and staff were efficient, helpful and very kind".

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynV1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
To all our new friends from Probus Club of Castle Donington, it was a pleasure having you stay with us for the week in April.

We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    191
    102
    68
    28
See reviews for
94
297
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Booked in for the 2 night spa break. Excellent spa facilities. All staff both in the hotel and in the spa were friendly, helpful and welcoming. Ate in the restaurant and found the food to be of a high quality and generously proportioned. Knaresborough is full of little boutique shops and although not a big place is ideal for shopping for out of the ordinary goods. The bedrooms are of a good standard, clean, comfortable and well equipped. I requested an iron and ironing board from reception and received it within 3 minutes! Would definitely stop here again.

Room Tip: I upgraded to a double room so have no idea what a single room is like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Victoria

Thank you for staying with us. We are so pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay.

Delighted you enjoyed our spa facilities, we are very lucky to have a great team here at the Dower House Hotel & Spa positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed for a three night walking holiday in the area. The weather was terrible but the hotel and its location made the stay really enjoyable.
The staff created a very pleasant friendly atmosphere and were always anxious to provide what ever assistance they could.
When planning the trip we had intended to eat in local restaurants, but changed our mind after eating in the hotel on the first evening. We found the hotel menu offered a good varied choice and the quality and presentation of the meals was excellent.
Our room was comfortable, fairly large, warm, clean and well furnished and was cleaned thoroughly each day.
We only used the pool and spar in late afternoon but found them clean, warm, inviting and very quite.
The Dower House will be our first choice when visitng the area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray_sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Ray & Shiela

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, If only we could arrange better waether.

Your comments have been passed onto the whole team, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
235 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel again for a few days when in Harrogate for business.
Again I was not let down, simply a great hotel, well run with a great leisure centre and pool, which is all free to hotel guests.
I did not eat meals here, due to work commitments, but if the breakfast is anything to go with, the meals must be great.
Keep up the good work.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Jman26

Thank you for staying with us again, it is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests.

Your comments have been passed onto the whole team, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for three nights after the Easter break 2012. Everything was wonderful.
We ate in the restaurant each evening, it is in Yorkshire, so we got healthy Yorkshire portions. The menu was varied and different each night. The food,cooking and presentation was of an excellent standard and as good as anything we have eaten anywhere in Europe. The staff were attentive without being overbearing.
Someone on here mentioned mobility problems. I have some, we were in the front downstairs room just outside reception, and found that was fine for me.
In that room we could just hear traffic on the road, but it was not loud enough to be an issue.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Usually when anyone particularly remembers staff it is for the wrong reasons. We will remember them all at the Dower house Hotel for all the nice things they did.
We will be back. Thankyou everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Nick

Thank you for staying with us. We are so delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay.

Your comments have been passed onto the whole team, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
4.3 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
4.4 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
5.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
4.9 km away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,686 reviews
4.6 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,815 - ₹ 11,302
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing