We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Break 2011/12”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Year Break 2011/12”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is the fourth time that my wife and I, who are one of nine couples who have been spending New Year together for over thirty years in various hotels up and down the country, have stayed at the Dower House.
As a rule we don't book the same venue in consecutive years but the manager, Ken Hardy, and his staff made our stay so enjoyable last year that we booked immediately for this year (2011/12)
Under his professional, high profile direction the whole operation seems to run extremely smoothly.The staff are all very pleasant, helpful and attentive without being overbearing.
Attention to details like mulled wine and biscuits on arrival, Afternoon tea on New Years Eve and a Champagne Reception in the evening are what makes this hotel stand out from the competition.
The meals are all cooked to a very high standard and offer a comprehensive choice.
The New Years Eve celebration was well organised although the music the disco played seemed sometimes a little out of step with the mainly middle-aged crowd.
Our one reservation was that our bedroom/shower room was rather small but this seemed a price worth paying for an excellent three days.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j8rma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear J8rma

It is always a pleasure to welcome your party to the Dower House.

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your kind comments, I have passed them to the whole team.

I know you have booked with our sister hotel this year and I am sure you will have just as much fun and enjoyment. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    194
    102
    68
    29
See reviews for
95
298
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Myself my partner and our toddler stayed here on boxing day, we come to knaresborough and Harrogate alot but we were looking fir health spa facilities to make a relaxing break away and be able to take our little girl swimming.
The hotel is beautiful from the outside with ample on site parking, we were greeted by the hotel manager who got a member of staff to carry our bags to our room. The room was spacious with giant bed and cot provided. we headed straight for the pool and was greeted by a very helpful member of staff who handed us towels and showed us round. We enjoyed the pool,jaquizzi, footspa and adventure shower. We werebooked in for the jazz evening with 4 course meal in which we were again greeted by the manager who explained we'd get our free drinks and allbe seated together. Our daughter was the only child at the meal infact I think in the whole hotel but she was embraced and very much looked after and made a fuss of. She was given an option of having whatever she wanted cooked, and a huge bowl of ice cream, balloons and the staff especially the manager made sure she was happy through out..she loved the jazz singer too and danced all night. The food was gorgeous and the staff were excellent.
Due to the over indulgence of icecteam our daughter was sick on a duvet in the bedroom we told the staff and they reassured us it was ok and not to worry.
Breakfast was delicious lots of choice and great service.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I'm trying to persude my other half to book our wedding here!!!!
Well definately be back

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bella2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Bella

We are delighted you joined us over the festive period and do hope that my over indulgence of the ice cream has not caused any recurring problems. It is always a pleasure when guests leave happy and we very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you all back in the near future, and maybe we can get that wedding booked.

Thank you again for your kind comments I have passed on to the whole team.

Yours sincerely,


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This was the third year that we have held our Xmas Lunch at the Dower House in the Nidderdale Room. The reason we keep returning is because of the personal attention we receive, the suitability of the room, the excellent food and the reasonable cost for a very satisfying event. After booking the room, I have nothing to worry about as it all appears according to our needs on the day of the lunch.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Watkins

We are all delighted you enjoyed your Christmas Lunch again this year. It is always a pleasure to welcome back regulars to the hotel.

I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed for 2 nights at Dower House. Were given Room 32. Old fashioned deco (only the bathroom has been done recently but we couldn't get the bath taps to mix the water at the right temperature), ugly curtains, single glazed windows (leeting noise and cold in), you need to ask reception to put heating on and it stops at night!! (no thermostat in the room!!); bed not comfortable (coudl feel the springs!!). Very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jol10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Jol10_11

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on Tripadvisor, it is through our guest’s comments that we can improve on our standards and level of service we provide. We have taken note of your comments are and working to rectify the very issues you have raised.

Many thanks and kind regards,


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stopped here for two nights with a few other couples. Really enjoyed our stay; time goes so quick when you're having fun. The hotel is nicely situated in Knaresborough, so we managed to walk up into town, take the bus to Harrogate (& train back - think a taxi is £10) and spend a day in York. We had a room at the front (no. 5 with a four poster) and we were conscious of several reviews talking about traffic noise - got to say that we didn't notice any and slept very well both nights. We could have eaten in or gone out - went to Carriages a short walk away and it was excellent. The leisure facilities at the hotel were upgraded about a year ago and it has improved them massively - pool, gym, foot baths, ice machine and nice modern steam and sauna - I used them each morning and late afternoon; excellent! Breakfast was fine, without being spectacular. Canned fruit, fruit, yoghourt (ran out 2nd day - ooops) or cereal, followed by cooked breakfast of choice. I enjoyed a full cooked breakfast both days (ran out of black pudding 2nd day - ooops). First morning was a bit comedy sketch as each of the eight of us had a different order and they got most of them wrong; but 2nd day was spot on. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. All our rooms (exec) were large and excellent. Minor issues with one radiator and the shower should really have been noticed and rectified, but these were small things that they resolved. The 2nd night was an Xmas Do evening and it really was very good - the food was excellent and the DJ played decent to good music all night. They also had a photographer in so we got to have a professional picture of us all dressed up - nice. So a great Xmas break that finished all too soon.

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay for an executive room. Many are new and others are large and quirky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnboySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear johnboySheffield

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, I would like to assure you we have taken steps to ensure the small issues you experienced do not occur in the future.

We very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
4.3 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
5.1 km away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
592 reviews
4.9 km away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,565 reviews
5.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,275 reviews
4.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,058 - ₹ 11,428
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing