We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
492
93
31
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
492
93
31
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard suite wedding venue afternoon tea master of ceremonies bridal suite fabulous wedding wedding breakfast complimentary sherry daughters wedding special thanks mr mrs jacuzzi bath special occasion night porter the main hotel four poster bed little touches
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

My husband and I came here and stay for our friends wedding and it was amazing from start to finish.!
* We rang in the morning to see if we could have our room earlier as travelling from the south - to be told "yes, all ready and waiting for us" .
*The room was amazing - like stepping back in time !! . ( funny how some negative reviewers were shocked by this - as it is a beautiful old manor house) full of modern extras..
*The wedding was 'out of this world ' and EVERYTHING was catered for. The food was superb and the hospitality team were 2nd to none. ( even catered for for a little girl who's a Celiac )
*The evening bbq was also to the same high quality and at the end of the evening -the team patiently waited for us to retire to our rooms .
* The bed was - I can only describe as cloud like - it was Soooo comfortable.
*After a fantastic nights sleep, we went down for breakfast to be greeted by the loveliest lady whom couldn't have done any more to provide the 5* meal that we had.
*On booking out the receptionists asked was everything to our liking? No it was more than that = it was fantastic!

Like most people, I like to read reviews before we book anything... some of the negative reviews are appalling and can only deduce that some people are only too happy to find fault.

If you are looking to spend time in a beautiful northern town? in a beautiful hotel - with beatiful friendly people ? then you must stay here.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dogclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

On behalf of all the team thank you very much for your kind words; at the end of a long day they really brought a smile to our faces. Please do tell your friends about us and we very much look forward to welcoming you to Judges again in the future. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 18/5/17

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

This important event in the Butterwick HospiceCorporate Calendar was fully sponsored by Judges Hotel for the seventh year running. Outstanding support from one of the most exclusive venues in the North East.An impressive turn out at Judges Country House Hotel and a huge show of support for Butterwick Hospice from local companies!
Judges Hotel is a perfect place for your corporate events, nothing is too much trouble when planning your day. Great food with excellent service. The weather was really sunny and we were able to enjoy the beautiful courtyard garden. I highly recommend Judges and look forward to returning later in the year for a breakfast meeting.

Room Tip: Perfect for corporate entertaining
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very proud to continue our support of Butterwick Hospice and the work that they do. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 11/5/17

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

This hotel is so good that you will want to live there. The welcome, the decor, the attention from staff...as well as the beautiful setting. I have never given an unqualified 100 percent to a hotel before but Judges comes close.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

On behalf of all the team thank you very much for your kind words; they really do mean a lot to us. Please do tell your friends about us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Judges soon. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 11/5/17

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

I had visited all of the local venues in preparation for my wedding which was held on 30th April 2017 and this was by far and away the best I could have hoped for. Although places like Guisborough hall had the edge on "grandeur" with the sweeping staircase Judges made up for it in a big way. The grounds were superb for all the perfect photo shots including the almost magical falling blossom pathway which made for some amazing photographs. We held our reception here as well as the service. All utalising the one room and with the offshot bar it made it perfect ot avoid any problems with transporting guests to and from location. Having this courtyard building a short distance from the main hotel (50 meters) also allowed everyone to filter back and fourth if they needed a break. The food was excellent and the staff were wonderful throughout the process. Sue and Kim in the events team were a testament to the hotels high standards and training. Helped with every aspect and were so accomodating to all our requests. Even with a wedding on the Saturday night before ours they allowed us to store all of our flowers and extras within the grounds and then produced them on the morning for our day. I stayed here the night before with my best men and they were very accommodating to us as just standard guests. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a wedding venue. The price alone was worth it for me but with everything else i don't think you could ask for a better day.

Room Tip: Room 8 - Best in the hotel. Kids will love the whirlpool bath and TV in the same room. Cbeebies and bubbles will keep them busy for Hours.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StubearL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

On behalf of all the team thank you very much for your kind words; please do tell your friends about us. Every happiness to you both in your life together and we look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 4/5/17

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

The staff at judges were very helpful in planning our dream wedding. The venue looked great and the grounds were beautiful. Lovely hotel and very welcoming staff. Will definitely be visiting again. The food was excellent both the night before and for our wedding.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Liane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

On behalf of all the team thank you very much for your kind words; please do tell your friends about us! Every happiness to you both in your life together and we look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 29/4/17

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews