We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,331)
Filter reviews
1,331 results
Traveller rating
651
392
158
66
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
651
392
158
66
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews super pitch toilet block fish and chip shop swimming pool well stocked shop the cliff on site cayton bay lovely site caravan park camp shop tent pitches games room toilets showers camping trip family bar high winds
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 1,331 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Have been returning to Crows Nest caravan park for the last 7 years, and have always enjoyed our break, we hire a static caravan, but this year was a real wash out in fact we left a day early (not the owners fault). We like to take our wee dogs for long walks but every time we took them out the dogs got soaked along with ourselves. It was that wet the sunday car boot got cancelled, our saving grace was the club house, i would still like to thank the owners who under extreme circumstances done very well in keeping the site ticking over, keep up the good work guys

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Yippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowsNestCaravanPark, Manager at Crows Nest Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your review Graham. We look forward to seeing you again soon, hopefully we can give you a bit better weather next time. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We’ve just returned from crows nest, and after seeing all the horror stories online over the easter weekend due to the terrible weather, I have to admit that I’m pretty relieved we booked where we did. We had a fully serviced hardstanding pitch on the top field and were close to the new toilet block and the kids play area, which was perfect for us. Unfortunately we didn’t get to sample all the site has to offer, we didn’t go in the bar or watch any entertainment. The shop onsite doesn have a great choice, but the Jet petrol station at the end of the road is well stocked with a variety of food and drink. We did order fish and chips from the onsite chippy, which were delicious and reasonable priced (and the folks working there were lovely too). My reasons for not giving 5 stars is the showers only stay on for 5 seconds so you have to constantly keep pressing the button, there was no soap in the ladies this morning.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowsNestCaravanPark, Manager at Crows Nest Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Joanne. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Crows Nest. We are certainly pleased that we have all weather pitches as standard now, they have been amazing this week. I will ensure the soap is topped up so it does not affect any other guests. We hope to see you again soon at Crows Nest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We have just returned from a Easter Break at this Site. Upon arrival we were quickly allocated our pitch which to our delight was one of the new pitches on the lower level. The pitches have Water / Waste / TV Aerial all at hand which I found perfect. The pitch was level and we found it quite spacious. The lawn has just been laid & with all the rain we had over the Easter was very boggy but that was not the Site's fault.

I didn't like that quite a few residents did not observe the one way system to the new pitches and a lot of cars were flying around & could have easily knocked someone over. This needs to be addressed as a matter of urgency before a serious accident happens.

The showers were terrible if I'm honest. If you turned them on full / hot the water trickled out. The seat to put your clothes on got wet and there was no room to change. The toilet seats were hanging off & they just felt dirty in general. They are in desperate need of modernisation.

The kids entertainment was the same as last year (Magician) now surely something like a Disco / Easter Egg hunt would be enjoyable for kids.

The Fish & Chip Shop was beautiful as always with food cooked to order.

Not sure if I would return to this Site as it seemed quite rowdy this year with people who just liked to party until all hours then argue until early morning! I just hope the Site can pull this back as last year we had a much more enjoyable stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Pez1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowsNestCaravanPark, Manager at Crows Nest Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your review, whilst the review itself is fair I think your title is very very harsh. Let me explain.

Over the last few months we have spent £100k+ improving facilities on the park, including the newly developed pitches that you stayed on, which i am pleased to hear you liked. We have also improved both bar areas and the swimming pool. To hear that you believe we are going downhill fast is upsetting after such large scale investment for our family company. This Easter we have had more rain than i can remember, there are other parks closing all around us due to flooding and they are mud baths, yet our pitches and facilities have coped admirably.

Your negative observations regarding the speeding could be very quickly stopped, had you told us about it. The same with any noise problems, although we did not receive any complaints from any other customers which is confusing.

I will admit that the Lower Toilet Block is not as good as the award winning Upper Toilet Block, it is older and not as modern, however we do state that in all pitch descriptions and the price is cheaper because of that. It is somewhat surprising to read that you described this exact same toilet block as 'perfect for you' when you left a review from your previous visit in 2017 - they have not changed.

Mazani the Magician is a very popular show with our customers, and we still believe he is the best childrens entertainer in our area. Hiring below par entertainment simply to provide something different to the few guests who may have seen it before seems counter productive to me i'm afraid. There is a variety of entertainment in our summer schedule including a kids disco, which will be advertised on our website in the entertainment section in due course.

We hope you choose to visit us again. Please choose the Upper Super Pitches to benefit from the more modern toilet block.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Nice level pitches all with water waste disposal and tv Arial. Down side is they are very cramped close together and No Where to park the car ...the toilet block on the lower field are dated with rusty drainage by the showers where people could cut there feet especially children ...on the bright side fish and chip shop was realy good ....we came back early due to the cramped area so unfortunately we will not be going back..

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowsNestCaravanPark, Manager at Crows Nest Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Steven,
I am a bit surprised to read your review, but thank you for your feedback. You stayed on our brand new touring development. We now have large all weather gravel pitches, with a purpose designed parking area at the front of the base. This is 30ft x 9ft so it is more than a little surprising that you were unable to park your car - we have been fully booked this weekend and no other guests seem to have a problem in this regard. The toilet block is a little dated which is as advertised, and the reason your pitch was cheaper than our Upper Super pitches with the newer toilet block. We will look in to your comments regarding the drainage channel.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but to be honest if our largest ever pitches feel cramped then we are probably not the site for you.
Many thanks,
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Having cancelled our original stay because of snow the week before, changed dates for this week. On arrival, no one to greet us at reception, had to call a number. Flurry of workmen and mud all over. The lower touring space which id booked was under construction, workmen laying new hard standing pitches etc, so good to pick a space on the higher pitches. Only 3 other vans so not a problem. Pitches are quite big with gravel, but found when pitching awning it’s very sandy and with the high winds, the pegs just came out. Extremely windy, even with storm straps it was touch and go! Electric tripped during night but was easily reset. I found from pitch 2 the roads when dark are not lit very well on the corner but the toilet facilities were lovely and clean. Disappointed even though touring was open nothing else was. Fish and chip shop closed, bar closed, pool closed. Nothing open. Left early after 2 nights because of the high winds and threat of snow. Maybe it’s good during better weather, but i didn’t like our experience.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nessymoomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews