We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs!”

Columbia Coffee Lounge
Ranked #13 of 30 Quick Bites in Scunthorpe
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 August 2019

My partner and I nipped in for a quick breakfast. I opted for the poached eggs on toast. I was appalled to receive two poached eggs that had clearly been made in one of those horrible microwave containers! No runny yolk, no fresh egg white, just rubbery, over-cooked microwave eggs! And all whilst under new ownership- not a great start. Will certainly not be returning.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank becki111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xsarah-columbiax, Owner at Columbia Coffee Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2019

Hi, I am the new owner of Columbia Coffee Lounge, my apologies you were not happy with your recent visit, It can be hard to cook poached eggs because everybody's preference is different, if you had mentioned this when ordering we could of accommodated a runny egg for you not a problem, I would just like to clarify that you have put that the eggs were cooked in a microwave container, its very unfair that you have put this as they are not done in a microwave we have a poached egg machine which they are always done in, If you were not happy with your meal then you could of asked us and we would of been more than happy to do it again for you or offer something else, to leave a negative review is very unfair as we could of rectified this for you if you had asked a member of staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

The Columbia is the best koffee shop /cafe in Scunthorpe,forget Starbucks or Costa coffee, they serve expensive mud compared to the Columbia.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank KeithR1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Great little cafe in the middle of the town centre. Coffee good and the cakes are fab. Often designed around kids chocolate bars (dine bar cake, caramac cake etc etc)
However, worth a stop for lunch too - jacket pots are nice as are paninis. Always very clean and staff are all very pleasant

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

We decamped to the café having been badly let down (for the second time) by our usual meeting place. We were given the upstairs, plenty of room along with excellent coffee and cakes. The group have decided to meet here for future meetings. The welcome - 5 stars, coffee - ditto, cakes - ditto. We'll be back.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Validreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Wanted something easy at lunch time. We were shopping nearby and went looking for somewhere to eat. There were four eateries all In a row and we opted for this one. We ordered panninis and coffees. The food came with a side salad with proper lettuce, NO ROCKET. Hurray! Excellent friendly service and lovely food and plenty of it. we don't often tip but we did this time. Now have a loyalty card and will certainly be going again.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Columbia Coffee Lounge also viewed

Messingham, Scunthorpe
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
 
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Columbia Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.