We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect wedding weeked!”

Review of Skendleby Hall

Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Music room
Master ensuite
The Hall from the Garden
Victorian ensuite (disabled friendly)
Table football and air hockey
Full size billiards table
L shaped Main kitchen 2
Path through woodland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
14 Bedrooms, 15 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Horncastle, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen H
yorkshire
1 review
“Perfect wedding weeked!”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Having previously visited Skendleby Hall for a family birthday and spent an amazing weekend with 20+ family and friends, we were delighted to return in December for our wedding day! (The venue has very recently become licensed for wedding ceremonies as well as receptions!)
The whole weekend was fantastic from start to finish, the venue is perfect for an intimate wedding, (50 guests) and with bedrooms to sleep 26 it was ideal for wedding guests to stay over(plenty of accommodation nearby for extra guests)

The house is itself is huge, beautifully decorated and well equipped - it needs to be seen to be fully appreciated, the photos don't do it justice! Many of the downstairs rooms are big enough for larger groups at once- perfect for what we wanted, everyone could be together but with a less formal wedding approach. Our ceremony was held in the piano room, and the reception/evening in the large drawing room- both looked amazing when decorated!

All in all we couldn't have asked for more, a wonderful venue with lovely owners! Gillian the events coordinator was brilliant throughout, she helped in the lead up to the wedding with everything from chair covers to hairdressers, nothing was too much trouble... Jen the caterer who did our wedding breakfast was also absolutely excellent-a 3 course meal for 50 people with no fuss and fantastic food!

Highly recommended! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of house, having the place to ourselves, relaxed wedding
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth H
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding house for a family get together - we've been four times!”
Reviewed 12 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We have just returned from our 4th stay at Skendleby Hall and it continues to delight us in all that it has to offer. Our extended family numbers 21 and encompasses all ages from babies to mid-seventies. We love the house because everyone gets a really comfortable (often luxurious) bedroom mostly with a private bathroom and the facilities have something for everyone. The youngsters love the wooded area and their own playroom, the teenagers love the snooker table and the TV room and we all love coming together for meals in the large dining room which seats everyone comfortably. The front lawn has seen some exciting games of cricket and the large drawing room played host to some fabulous parties. It really has been the perfect holiday house for our large family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The indoor space and the lovely setting
Liked least: The dishwashers could do with updating
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onarock
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for large group with children”
Reviewed 6 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Skendleby Hall exceeded our expectations in almost every way. Everyone was comfortable in magnificent rooms. Great facilities, hard to add to what is advertised but lingering memory will be the views from both the front lawn and over to the church behind. Recommended and good value for a large group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The splendour
Liked least: Accessability
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidmb27
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful luxury venue in beautiful peaceful countryside”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Skendleby Hall is a magnificent Manor house in the small Lincolnshire village of Skendleby. It lives up to all my expectations of life as Lord of the Manor! Spacious, beautifully furnished and practical with great facilities - love the full size snooker table and other games. Quiet and secluded yet in a lovely small village - great atmospheric pub nearby. We used the catering staff who can be booked in advance and the food was excellent.
Just perfect for that special occasion - for us it was a Silver Wedding - we all loved it! Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere and sense of luxury
Liked least: Weather was bit cold!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micheleks
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous 19th century country house”
Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

My husband and I recently rented, at a very reasonable price, this remarkable property to hold our wedding. There was only 19 of us staying but the house sleeps 26 and has more than ample room to stage a small or larger wedding (of up to 50 I believe), or any other family gathering. We felt that having our wedding in a venue like this made it so much more personal, the setting was great with the house being surrounded by beautiful countryside and gardens...there is also a great barbeque area which we didn't get to use, but will do on our next visit.

On arrival at the hall, Mel was there to welcome us and show us round the property. The house interior made us gasp when we first entered, it is tastefully decorated and absolutely beautiful.

The house is also fully stocked with all the things that you need from kitchen appliances, cutlery, plates all manor of kitchen and dining needs, linen and towels are provided and are very good quality. There is also a sauna and steam shower the sauna was great to use.

We have to say a big thank you to Ruth and David for such a great retreat for our day and to Mel who was there on hand should we need anything, also to Jen the caterer who gave us a fabulous day of food and made the day go very smooth indeed.

Would I recommend it? without a shadow of a doubt and will also be using this venue again for any other large family get togethers we may have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about this place is magical
Liked least: nothing to not like
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing