We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never will you find two more hospitable people who have hearts of gold” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clee House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clee House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Cleethorpes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never will you find two more hospitable people who have hearts of gold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

You made my stay so warm and very welcoming. Thankyou for allowing me to share part of your life and your incredible journey through it.

Angels in disguise

Many thanks

Chris

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank batchel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    23
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
35
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Goole
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have just had a 8 week stay at the Clee house hotel, this is the second time l have stopped there and it was a pleasure on both ocations. The Owners David and Kathryn l found very helpful and friendly, and always there to add there own personal touch. My room was large well furnished, clean and warm, l could not have hopped for any better and the boiled sweets in the room added the finishing touch. The hotel bar and resurant was very good, all food cooked to order ( spot on ) needless say l stopped in on many ocations.
I loved this place it was like Home from Home, l will reccomend this hotel to my friends and work colleages stopping in the area.

Room Tip: When booking ask for one of the four rooms in the new extention
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel in January for a week, never again! The food was un-substantial, rooms old fashioned and my room was particularly cold! I thought the price they were charging was well overpriced and as for the propriotor and his wife, were do i begin? He is so arrogant and rude and she is as nutty as a fruit cake, reminded me of Fawlty Towers!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Essex69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CleeHouse, Owner at Clee House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Concerning the reviewer’s observations:

1) The building is a100 year old Edwardian building converted into a hotel and so it is 'old fashioned'. We have retained much of its original Edwardian character and did not indulge in architectural vandalism during the building’s conversion into a full hotel.

2) With regards to other comments, I would ask reviewers to look at past reviews e.g see previous review, “Astonishingly friendly Hotel”.and also note that we are still ranked number 1 of 7 hotels in the area.

3) Considering the location, this reviewer chose to stay in this hotel and so the fact that the location did not suit the reviewer is entirely due to the reviewrs own 'location' choice. I presume the reviewer initially checked our location.

4) Finally, the hotel finds some of the comments about certain staff 'offensive'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Just stopped two nights on Business and all the usual Grimbsy hotels were full, so was booked in here. Very Friendly hotel, food was filling and well cooked (and loads of it). Now I've read the other reviews I wish I'd got up earlier for the breakfasts, they sound great. Next time I'm up here I'll try and get in here rather than the usual ones booked by my Company

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

What a gem of a find! Had a short stay for a reunion and it couldn't have been in a more perfect spot. The accommodation was fantastic with large, spacious, warm and clean rooms that were full of goodies - sweets, toiletries, a hospitality tray - amazing attention to detail and comfort - a rare thing in this day and age. The bed was sooooo big and comfortable zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!!!! The owner was friendly and helpful and served a fabulous breakfast. The choice was exceptional with the English breakfast or haddock etc. Amazing value.
Remembering this is in November when it is low season, everywhere was ready for business without looking like dust sheets had been taken off to accommodate us. Do not know how anybody can dis such a fabulous little find - the only thing is that if you survive on McD's breakfasts then that says a lot for your taste!!!!

Will definitely be back again to enjoy the atmosphere, look at all the arabian artifacts, and enjoy the amazing hospitality, comfort and superb breakfast!

Room Tip: They all are of the highest standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emeraldval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0.6 km away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 9 in Cleethorpes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.5 km away
Premier Inn Cleethorpes Hotel
1.3 km away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#3 of 9 in Cleethorpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
1.2 km away
Ginnie's
Ginnie's
#5 of 9 in Cleethorpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clee House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clee House Hotel

Property: Clee House Hotel
Address: 31-33 Clee Road, Cleethorpes DN35 8AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,824 - ₹ 6,377
Hotel Class:3 star — Clee House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRIMSBY We are an ideal base from which to commute to Grimsby and the various industries and ports on the River Humber. CLEETHORPES We are only a few hundred yards from the attractions of Cleethorpes seafront and are ideally located to explore the beautiful Lincolnshire countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Clee House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clee Hotel Cleethorpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing