We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The trawlerman

The trawlerman
Ranked #2 of 139 Restaurants in Cleethorpes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 8
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Carvery
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We visited here while on holiday at thorpe Pprak as it's only over the road.

This carvery is excellent value for money £3.89 or go large for £4.89 how anybody can complain for the price is beyond me, they have a all the trimmings like most carvery places.

The food is nice, they have a childrens play area for the under 5's which keeps them entertained, it does get very busy as you can imagine for the price, the desserts are really nice too fudge cake £1.85, Apple Pie £1.95 really good prices.

The childs carvery is £3.49 inc dessert.

I will definatly visit here again if I'm in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshy12-13, Manager at The trawlerman, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    215
    81
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The carvery”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

I have visited about 4 times now .. The prices are excellent during the week but was disappointed each time because the food was barely warm...

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshy12-13, Manager at The trawlerman, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Please let us know if your food is cold we will get you another
Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We recently visited The Trawlerman in Cleethorpes - it was a busy Sunday afternoon and we wanted to try the carvery after reading the reviews on TA. There is a large car park and although it was fairly full, we managed to park up ok. The Trawlerman is a large place and we were unsure of what to do in terms of where to sit, when and how to order etc. so we approached the bar first to ask for help. There were four staff at the bar; two looked at us but didn't speak, not even to ask if we wanted to buy a drink! We then walked over to the seating areas expecting one of the waiting on staff to come over. They were very busy serving and clearing tables but kept moving and avoided eye contact, so we were more or less left to work it out for ourselves. Normally, we’d have turned around and walked out at that point - but only the good reviews we'd read on TA stopped us.

The carvery was excellent value for money despite it being a little pricier on a Sunday. The food was very good with a choice of meats (turkey, gammon and beef) and decent selection of vegetables. The roast potatoes were lovely and the turkey was cooked to perfection - so moist and full of flavour. The only thing (in my opinion) that let the food down was the gravy - tasted like shop bought gravy granules. We’ll definitely return because it represents such good value - perhaps next time, we’ll visit on a week day and at a time to avoid the queues.

It would be helpful if there was a notice board/instructions near the entrance/seating areas for the benefit of new customers, and also for staff to be a bit more receptive to customers needs. I also have to agree with another reviewer who commented on the noise levels inside the pub. I could hardly hear my partner and had to ask him to repeat everything he said - think that got on his nerves a bit!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharonwh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshy12-13, Manager at The trawlerman, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We took your opinions on board Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetney
Level Contributor
302 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Go early or late!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Try to go either early or late to avoid the queues. The food is lovely and a good choice of veg - it is a carvery an usually serves gammon, turkey and beef. They do have a menu too but the carvery is so good and is such good value.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kayerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshy12-13, Manager at The trawlerman, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Good advice thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Scumptious Carvery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were staying at the Haven site just down the road from here & my fishmonger had reccommended this place to me, so we thought we would give it a try & boy are we glad we did, it was a bank holiday monday & the car park was really busy & they had put notes on the doors saying that there was a bit of a wait for tables, we just saw this as a sign that it was a good place, so we waited for a table & because the staff know there stuff we didnt have to wait long at all. We then got our carvery & it was one of the best ones Ive ever tasted, the meat was so tender & tasty & it was under £4.00 BARGAIN!!!!!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank jay jay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshy12-13, Manager at The trawlerman, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Scrummy review
Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The trawlerman also viewed

 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The trawlerman? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing