We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$ 118
US$ 115
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor House(Alford)
US$ 91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bell Hotel(Skegness)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$ 85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 125
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$ 85
US$ 83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 211
US$ 199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Skegness)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Sun Hotel(Skegness)
US$ 202
US$ 183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
23
12
9
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
12
9
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantfriendly gentlemantea and coffeenice foodlovely hoteltwin roomany sortbiscuitslast minute bookingstayed one nightcouldn't do enoughenjoyed our stay11pmtakeawaydogensuite
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

One night stop over. Hosting was second to none. ALL staff were wonderful. Nothing too much trouble. The décor and furnishing are a little tired in places but don.t let looks deceive. Our room 204 had everything we needed. Beds comfy, fresh white towels, tea making facilities, shampoo and shower gel, complimentary as were the biscuits. It is a large family room with all things necessary, very large television. Free wiFi. We could find fault at all. If you choose 204 there are quite some stairs but assistance is on hand if needed. Nice stay, lovely little market town, Lovely people, who work hard to go the extra mile. I think the bad reviews on the place are a little harsh. If you want 5 star go and pay 5 star prices. Well done the Windmill. Would recommend.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

These guests were an absolute pleasure to accommodate and we thank them wholeheartedly for their positive review and kind comments. In fact our staff were sorry to see them go. It makes all our hard work seem worthwhile and appreciated when guests enjoy their stay. We trust they will visit us some time in the future and thank them for their recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

We were abit apprehensive about staying here because we have a massive dog (Saint Bernard) and wasnt to sure what the reaction would be...we need not have worried she was welcomed better than us LOL.

We enjoyed our stay here, yes the rooms need updating but it did say this on their site and its definately reflected in the price so you cant grumble. We had our evening meal in the bar and it was absolutely fantastic.
Overall the staff are so friendly, had a lovely stay with nice food they was nothing to complain about for the price we paid.
Thanks

Stayed: May 2018
Thank spriteeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

We appreciate the review and comments left by this guest. Pets are important to us and we always accept them no matter what size. We accept that the rooms are in need of some updating, but point out that we are limited in what we can do because the building is Grade 2 listed. However, the budget prices reflect this. The staff are all 'hospitality' trained and always present a friendly and helpful persona. We are confident our food is second to none, in fact diners come from miles around for our cuisine and the positive comments left in this review confirm this. We trust they will visit us again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

The Windmill is a down to earth hotel in the delightful small town of Alford. It offers basic accommodation. Provides towels and courtesy tray for tea and coffee. Also shampoo soap and conditioner neatly displayed on beds in our twin room when we entered the room.
It was a Friday night and the locals were a little noisy, but we expected this. There's a private carpark, which counts for a lot these days!
We'd come again...

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Helene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

This is our second time staying here. Ideal for when riding at Cadwell Park. Own private Car Park out the back. If you are looking for a spotless hotel with white fluffy towels and perfect decoration this isnt for you but i love this quirky place. It is dated but a absolute steal for £40 a night. The rooms are clean and very warm, have a ensuite and the staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough for you. We stayed for 2 nights and after a 48hours continual rain at Cadwell it was great to come back and have a hot shower then just pop down to the bar and have a few drinks. It's a lively bar so dont come if you are not social as it's obviously a popular place for the locals to. The Indian restaurant was really nice and one of the best Currys I've had for a long time. Again the staff were friendly and helpful. This hotel isnt for everyone but i really can't knock it for the money.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

We are always grateful when guests return, especially when they leave such a warm review and comments. We pride ourselves on offering budget value for money accommodation. Our Indian restaurant and takeaway is extremely popular with everyone who enjoys authentic, freshly prepared Indian cuisine. Guests such as these are always a pleasure to serve and our staff wish to extend their gratitude for the kind comments. Please come again as we can assure you of the same experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Never stayed here (we live nearby) we eat here or get a takeaway every week, Great owners, Great staff, Very family friendly, Lovely atmosphere,Ridiculously good value for the delicious food! ....when it says 'hot' its hot! Some of the best Indian dishes I've had have been from here. 5 stars!!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

We are grateful for this customers' kind and positive comments. We pride ourselves on the quality of the food we provide, it is all authentic Indian cuisine and cooked fresh to order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews