We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick early T - just the job!”
Review of Ocean Palace

Ocean Palace
Ranked #12 of 90 Restaurants in Darwen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 44
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We have a comfortable 20 table layout, wheelchair friendly and more than welcome children of all ages. A fully licenced bar from Pinot Grigio all the way to the exclusive Dom Perignon Champagne!
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Called in for a quick bit to eat, as we have been many times.
Food was very good, our favourite is the Chicken Satay starter every time!along with a kid of other tasty starters..
just the job, and sensible money too!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank EasygoingFussySod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

The service was fantastic. We booked in advance and our table was ready for us but we weren't rushed to itbamd were given the choice of drinks in bar or at table whilst choosing what to eat.we shared a quarter duck for starter and this was shredded by the waiter at the table which was a nice touch. We then had house special curry and chicken with Chinese mushrooms to share. The food was fresh tasting and beautifully cooked and the portion sizes very generous. Although it was busy, with people waiting in the bar area for tables, we were given adequate time between courses and didn't feel rushed at all throughout the evening. The overall meal and atmosphere of the place was fantastic and we will definitely be back soon

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank youngfamilynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

It had been a few years since my last visit with the family as now living in Birmingham, but when we needed a location for guaranteed good food, good service and warm reception, the Ocean Palace was the first choice.

5 adults and 2 children, over three generations, and everyone left happy and satisfied. Crispy Combo is superbe, and every dish chosen was delicious. Choosing 4 crispy compbos (between the 7 of us), 5 mains, 3 rice,1 vermicelli, and spme chips (for the baby of the group, complete with dip dip ketchup) everyone had plenty to eat.

Fantastic place to go, and not too expensive either, considering the quality.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We booked, giving only a couple of hours notice, to celebrate Grandson’s exam results - 7 of us on a Thurs 7.15pm.
The service was very good and the food excellent. We had soup which was very tasty, 4 guests had a banquet which included crispy duck, the other 3 enjoyed a good choice from the “early bird” set menu. The soups, starters, Duck and mains were all thoroughly enjoyed. The quantity of food seemed about right there was no wastage but no one left hungry. The waitress was so polite she made sure we received our courses when we were ready for them. The restaurant was busy and service was leisurely, no problem with drinks - it was very enjoyable!
It’s not inexpensive, only 2 adults drinking alcohol the rest on soft drinks, 3 out of 7 on the £12.00 set menu, yet the bill was still £250, the price of soft drinks presumably is not insignificant! Having said that we will be back just not on a very regular basis as other restaurants offer better value for money.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank tracyc745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Both myself and my partner visited on a Friday night and turned up on the off chance we might get a table. Wow got one immediately, we ordered drinks and then was taken to the table. We ordered chicken and sweetcorn soup and hot and sour soup to start. Both tasteless, if it wasn’t for the prawn crackers we bought as extra we would have been still hungry. We complained as we didn’t like it but were met with confusion so we thought, best to wait for the main. The main course came, fillet steak and black pepper sauce = chewy, gristly, and boiled, sauce was bland barely any seasoning. I ordered chicken in garlic sauce=again the same. We was so fed up by this point and lost our appetite we asked for the bill. I paid 58.90 for this and left knowing I’ll never go back, to drive home hungry and reaching for a bottle of wine to drown my sorrows.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank swifty7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Palace also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing