We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to see a return to top form”
Review of Euxton Mills

Euxton Mills
Ranked #65 of 221 Restaurants in Chorley
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

After a number of false starts the Mill now seems to have bar a manager and restaurant chef who really care about quality. We enjoyed some excellent food during a lunch time visit, all washed down with well kept Wainwrights bitter. My Duck Breast was delicious with moist meat and crisp skin served with crisp vegetables and parsley mash ....lovely. My friends enjoyed the generous portion of spaghetti & pork and bacon meatballs and the black pudding starter.

Great to see that the pub has returned to delivering top quality food and I would certainly not hesitate to return and try something else from the menu

Thank Martinw034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Public Relations Manager at Euxton Mills, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Visited on Easter Sunday, on the recommendation of friends. We hadn’t eaten in this pub for a long time. The new landlord and landlady have really made a difference, the staff are friendly and efficient, our waitress Jemima was a star! The menu is interesting and varied, and the food is excellent; the pub has a great atmosphere, a real ‘locals’ feel to it!

Thank 77gillybilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Public Relations Manager at Euxton Mills, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch! Thank you very much for your very kind words.
Please do join us again soon, we have some wonderful plans in place for when the weather improves that we are sure you will love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

My Wife and I were passing the Euxton Mills and (as we hadn't been in for a while) decided to pop in for a drink. Lindsay noticed it was cleaner and tidier than she remembered it to be on our last visit. The landlord informed us that he had only just taken over and that the kitchen was run on a sort of franchise basis and therefore the chef ran his own business.

Interested we decided to return and try out the cuisine. It would appear that the pub doesn't have a published menu it is written on a chalk board, the reason we were told is that it changes regularly. This meant that there were three/four couples all trying to look above the heads of the others without becoming obtrusive and getting in each others way. Just a quick note chaps... although it is novel, it is not as practical as you think it is, please just print the menu out on the in-house printer and pop it on the tables.

We shared a starter of black pudding with an egg yolk on a bed of wholegrain mustard. For the mains I ordered the homemade burger with homemade chips and my wife the chicken breast stuffed with garlic & tomato sausage. The waitress was pleasant and the food came quickly and was tasty (please see picture). The chips were certainly homemade, the burger large and flavoursome. The brioche bun a little disappointing.

The only slight criticism would be that the tables could be cleaned more regularly. Other than that for pub grub it was very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Public Relations Manager at Euxton Mills, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi Phil & Lindsay

We are so pleased that you called by to try the new, improved Euxton Mills and thank you very much for your positive review! We are delighted that you have noticed how much cleaner the pub is since Leam took over. The team work hard to maintain high levels of cleanliness.

We will definitely take on board your comments about the small improvements we can make. Chef is already on the case at getting menus drawn up, so hopefully next time you come, we will have these in place.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Went out for a family meal with kids and our grandson. The food is amazing and not the 5 min boil in the bag crap food you get at a lot of the pubs in Chorley but proper fresh home cooked food how it should be . If you haven’t been since it changed hands it’s worth a visit as this place is going to be a gem . First visit was a couple of weeks ago and again today and feel it could be a regular thing for my family . Pat on the back to you all for working as a amazing team to bring back the old pub feel

Thank Bigbirdgonemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Public Relations Manager at Euxton Mills, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words and for visiting us over the last few weeks.
We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with the work we have done to turn Euxton Mills back in to the thriving pub the locals have been craving for.

It won’t be long before the spring weather kicks in and we can bring back the hanging baskets and improve the outdoor seating area.

There are many more improvement plans on the horizon, so please do call back soon and let us know what you think

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Went to the Euton Mills on Sunday with my family and wasn't impressed, first of all the roast beef on our meals was very good but everything went down hill from there. Although there was'nt many in it was at least half an hour before we had our food brought to us and then i had to ask if we were going to get some vegetables the reply was sorry i forgot, the people behind us who ordered there roast dinner only got there veg half way through there meal and when we got the veg everything was in a small dish enough for one person no cabbage. The menu was limited we used to come here a few years ago every Sunday and stopped going because the pub changed hands and the place went down hill, from what i can see there is no improvement on the look of the pub and the overall eating experience which was sad because we did used to enjoy our weekly trip to The Mills but we won't be returning for a long while.

1  Thank lesleyjimlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Public Relations Manager at Euxton Mills, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

We are so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit

We only took over 2 months ago, so we are working hard to make positive changes wherever we can to improve our customers’ experience and get the Euxton Mills back to being a thriving local pub after years of management changes and the negative effect that brings.

We take onboard all feedback - good and bad, so rest assured we will highlight to chef how important lots of vegetables are to you and work hard to get this right in future.

There are so many more things in the pipeline over the coming weeks, that we are sure you will enjoy.

Please do give us another chance and we will do all we can to turn your 3 rating in to a 5 star rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Euxton Mills also viewed

 
Charnock Richard, Chorley
Charnock Richard, Chorley
 
Chorley, Lancashire
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to Euxton Mills? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing