We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Harbour Cottage

Dining Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining Room
Harbour cottage Twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Dining Room
Harbour cottage
Twin bedroom
Cosy fireside
Dining Room
Tea in the dining room
Lounge
Private dining in the courtyard
Enter a caption for your photo
Kitchen
Kitchen
Period sash window - back bedroom
Rear kingsize bedroom
Shutters and whitewashed floors
Front kingsize bedroom
Family bathroom
View the sea and harbour from the room at the top!
Local seafood market for that great meal
Lively Whitstable harbour
View of sea and harbour from twin bedroom
You can't miss it
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JG1990
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for a long weekend in April, I'll start by saying that this cottage is very pretty outside and in, with a fantastic kitchen and courtyard garden. The bedrooms are spacious and tastefully decorated.

The location is fantastic, a 1 minute walk to the beach and the vibrant shops, bars and restaurants. It's also ideal if you want to drive into Canterbury, which is close by.

The landlords were extremely friendly and helpful, even giving us recommendations on good places to eat and drink in Whitstable, as we had never been before.

All in all it was a great experience, 5 out of 5.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Lindern
1 review
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a very good time staying at Harbour Cottage in Whitstable. From the moment we arrived, we felt like being at home. The cottage is very lovely decorated, it really looks so beautiful as shown at the pictures. There is lots to see in and around Whitstable, the kids espacialy loved being just opposite the harbour and the beach. Thanks a lot for offering such an homly cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samy701
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DON'T STAY HERE. Charged a huge amount of hidden costs from deposit”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Left a very sour taste to what should have been a nice holiday. The landlord employed unfair and underhand tactics to take as much money from our deposit as he could, despite us causing no damage and leaving the place spotless. I had to battle for weeks just to avoid him keeping almost the entire £100 deposit which he used varying excuses for.. including "cleaning bed linen" which was stated as free on the tenancy agreement and "having to move a table back across a room"! He even made the suggestion that we had lied and had more people staying than was agreed and inferred that this was one motive for the extra costs. Had the cheek to comment on how much "fun" he thought we'd had based on how many bottles of wine were in the recycling bin! I felt insulted and disgusted by his accusations and tactics. Despite us leaving the house spotless he refused to give our full entitlement back and I lost a lot of money for no good reason. A real shame as this was a perfectly nice cottage, although no better than any other I have stayed in. I would definitely not stay here again, have stayed in nicer, cheaper cottages in this area, with honest landlords who are not looking to rip their customers off.

Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
We have been going for two years and have had excellent reviews - in fact we haven't had any bad reviews. We have a good relationship with all our guests and many return.
My husband and I were very upset to have to hold back some deposit money. We have never taken a penny in two years from anyone's deposit. You booked for two adults and the cottage was used as a party venue. We had complaints from neighbours. There was a lot of cleaning and heavy furniture was moved around. This involves extra cleaning costs as my cleaner had to have help getting things ready for the next guests.
I would like to reassure any body wishing to stay at Harbour Cottage. Because we care about our customers - that is why our reviews have consistently been excellent over the two years we have been operating. We are an honest, courteous family who are very upset regarding this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon N
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Harbour cottage is a tastefully decorated cottage right by the harbour. It is perfectly located for the lovely town of Whitstable, which has a wide array of independent shops and eateries. Also good for waterside activities being a few moments from the beach.

We used it as a base to explore the area and would thoroughly recommend both the cottage and the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare P
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage perfectly located”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Harbour Cottage is an absolutely lovely base for a stay in Whitstable. It is perfectly located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Whitstable and immediately opposite the fish market and Crab & Winkle restaurant. The cottage is very pretty on both the outside and in. It is tastefully decorated throughout. The bed was very comfy and we both slept well. All amenities catered for - the only thing absent is a full length mirror. The owners did all they could to make our stay pleasant and we had a lovely time. This property is not suitable for people with mobility disabilities due to the steepness of the stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing