We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Stay in Whistable”
other travellers have booked this property
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
The Bakehouse Comfortable Sleeping Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
105 reviews
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
The Bakehouse
Comfortable Sleeping Area
Luxury Kingsize Bed
Everything you require
Relax on the leather sofas
Flat Screen TV
Kitchen & Dining Area
Suntrap Decking Area
Fantastic Sunsets on Whitstable Beach
Whitstable Fisherman Huts
Whitstable Castle
The Sea Forts
Sunset
Summer fun jumping from the groins
A lovely July evening
July sunset at East Quay
Sunset in August from East Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 105 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachel D
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Stay in Whistable”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely stay at The Bakehouse. We came to stay for a relaxing weekend. The Bakehouse is a good size for a couple although I am you could fit another 2 people in on the sofa be. It has all your basic creature comforts, i.e towels cutlery, plates, mugs, glasses etc... Very clean and tidy. We also had a some biscuits, tea, milk and sugar left for us which I thought was nice touch. The is also a is a small decking area in the front which is a great sun trap in the morning so it was nice to get our breakfast out there!

The location is just off the main highstreet behind the Champs Bakery and the jazz club. So it close to lots of café’s and shops.

I do have 2 slight qualms, one is that there is a sunlight right above the bed, so those who are wishing to have a sleep in on a bright sunny day will not be able to. And the second thing, is just outside the front door there is a smoking area for the Jazz club. It seems to get quite noisy if there are large groups of people out there late at night. I think we may have been unlucky, as the late night England game was being shown in there and a drunken fight kicked off after the game which was about 1am in the morning! So again didn’t have the best of sleeps….

It’s probably about a 10-15 min walk to the beach.

Virginia is very friendly and knowledgeable on the area.

All in all we had a lovely stay and it is a good base if you want to explore Whitstable and the surrounding areas..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked least: The sunlight above the bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your break but sorry to hear that you did not sleep well. We have always been told how much people like the brightness of The Bakehouse and noone has mentioned (even our frequent returning guests) it is too light to sleep, this is something we will not monitor closely and if it is a problem for others will fit a blind. With regard to the Wine Bar, it is not outside our door but outside the gate. It was unfortunate that you visited whilst a major football event was happening, however, it should not have caused a problem. We are talking with the owners and requesting that they respect neighbours as other drinking establishments in Whitstable do and close their gardens and yards at 9pm to elminate this being a problem in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
webster51
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, would come again.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Bakehouse was a joy to stay in, it was very very clean and the furnishings bright
and fresh. Everything you could possibly need was provided.
My daughter actually said she would'nt mind living in it all the time.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your break and of course, The Bakehouse. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sezwez
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again at The Bakehouse.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Bakehouse; it has everything you need and is decorated and furnished to a high standard. It is in a great location being just of the high street and walking distance to the beach. The decked area was nice to sit in and the bed was really comfy. Whitstable is lovely and would definitely go back and stay at The Bakehouse. The only reason we gave it four was because it did get loud late at night as it is behind a wine bar but with the windows shut you can't really hear the noise.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 May 2014
Many thanks for taking a few moments to leave a review. We are delighted that you liked The Bakehouse so much and had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pippa B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday home in a great location.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a loverly stay here over the bank holiday weekend. The bakehouse is very comfortable and well equiped with everything you need. The decking area at the front is a great place to sit and have breakfast in the sun.

The bread from Champs bakery (2 mins away) is also excellent!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your break and our property. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing