We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice and central house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Breakwater Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
86 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah C
2 reviews
“Nice and central house”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The house is a very tastefully decorated place with lovely wooden floors and a light and airy feel to it. It was presented very clean and tidy on arrival. The location is central close to the beach and the Whitstable High Street.
The bathroom has been recently modernised but unfortunately only a very small sink has been put in. If you have toddlers or children trying to wash hands or brushing their teeth, you might find this - like we did - challenging. Also notice that there is only one toilet in the house and that this is quite far away from the bedrooms.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo_Paynte...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Taking advantage of the surprise October sunshine, we found the owner friendly and helpful in accepting our last minute reservation. Our stay has been amazing - we dont want to leave! The cottage has been perfect - warm and cosy with everything we need and minutes from the high street. Have loved exploring the area- we will be back - and definitely to this cottage! We thoroughly recommend it...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny125
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good holiday base, but high cost for average accommodation in my opinion.”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Booking all easy and straight forward.

Advert is says bedding included, but beware there is a extra charge of £10.00 per bed used, this should be made clear on the advert. The bedding whilst described as quality Egyptian cotton was well used and far from pristine, though all beds were very comfortable.
We were grateful that the owner allowed us to take our two small dogs, despite not normally allowing this.

The cottage is in a convenient location close to amenities and generally well equipped with good WIFI and heating. Cottage and garden were neat and tidy, but a bit grubby and dusty round the edges. We were disappointed to find cracked crockery and glassware and whilst we were ok, there were insufficient items for 7 people as advertised. Previous guests had made the same comment in the comments book, so clearly this wasn't picked up on. We also had to buy and fit a light bulb on the stairs, which are quite steep and have no hand rail. We also found the downstairs bathroom, through the kitchen really inconvenient I'm afraid.

On the whole we had a good holiday, but feel for the price the cottage which was clearly well appointed when set up, now errs on more shabby than chic. It would really benefit from a deep clean and freshen up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - though street parking a pain
Liked least: Standard for the money
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillipaB...
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfectly situated cottage in the wonderful seaside town of Whistable.”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed at Breakwater Cottage with my sisters and two young children whilst visiting from Florida. The Cottage is in great location close to the beach, harbour and high street. When we were not out crabbing or eating at the many fabulous food spots we were relaxing in the garden which caught the sunshine all afternoon. Check in was so simple and we had great communications with Rafel the owner throughout our stay. I would highly recommend this rental to anyone traveling to the area with young children the cottage provides everything you might need. The cottage is beautifully decorated whilst still being functional ... We look forward to returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful garden, ridiculously comfortable beds. and placement of property.
Liked least: The cleanliness on arrival but easily rectified. Some of the towels also needed replacing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steaders1...
1 review
“Clean, comfortable and well located.”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A very nice, clean and modern cottage. Very close to the bar, restaurants and local shops. Locals were very welcoming. Free parking on the street, although very tight on space! Would stay again and Whitstable is a lovely seaside town.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing