We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visit”
Review of Tonge Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tonge Barn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Cardiff, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Family visit”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

hi
we have just returned from a much needed family visit to Sittingbourne. To give us a little extra spin on the weekend we decided to stay at Tonge Barn instead of family. It was a very nice romantic break. It was well located, the weather was great considering the time of the year. The grounds are well kept, breakfast is really good, accommodation spacious and well worth the pennies. We booked through booking.com got a great deal and easily confirmed. Would reccommend this location its personal, lovely converted barn right opposite the pond which we had a leisurly walk around after our large breakfast. See you again soon thank you for a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for the garden rooms, door opens straight onto the garden be realy nice in the spring and summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tich88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    48
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
22
63
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Tonge Barn in one of the rooms at the back of the property. The room has its own entrance and parking was directly in front of the room (like a motel). It was very clean.
It is heated by an air-conditioning unit which did keep the room warm. However, it is in the bathroom at the back of the room which meant that there was no door between bathroom and bedroom. Not much a problem for us but may not suit everyone. It would have been nice to have a shelf in the bathroom area next to the sink (there is room) to put down your toiletry bag.
The bed was too soft for me but my partner slept very well. A rail line runs directly behind the property but I didn't notice the trains. I found the place very quiet and relaxing.
Breakfast was excellent. The communal table is a nice idea. It gets you talking to other guests.
The young woman, who checked-in, cleaned and cooked, made us very welcome and we would happily recommend the Tonge Barn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WebWestward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I've used this place a couple of times for business and I love it. It's a little quirky but is clean, has great facilities and a made to order breakfast. It's a fantastic, off the beaten track little getaway. Probably best described as Sittingbourne's little gem.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elygalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I'm always a little suspicious of website photos but Tongue Barn surpassed my expectations. The room was big, the bed was big, the bathroom was a wet room. the main house was beautiful. The young lady who looked after us was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was really good. Would definitely stay here again, a real find!

Room Tip: the ones that look onto the outside as apparently there are some with large windows that look inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeebsterWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

A very decent price for a modern and clean room. The barn is just off of the main road, along a few country lanes. Sittingbourne isn't the nicest of towns and neither is the neighbouring Faversham. However a 20ish minute drive into Canterbury is definitely worth a visit, as it is a beautiful town, with lots of shops and restaurants.

The main barn is where you have breakfast, which was lovely and the barn was gorgeous as it has such a lovely, modern design. Then there are a number of other little barn rooms, just outside of the main barn. These were a nice size and it was great to see a modern, clean interior and decent bed covers, not like so many of the other hotels around! Also it was the most comfortable bed that we had slept in so far!!

The only little downsides that I would say are that I did email twice and never got a response, so I guess it is just easier to call them with any questions that you have. Also we did have some noisy neighbours who were banging and shouting very late at night and then again early in the morning (I think they were business people). Plus after several uses the shower door did fall off which was a little dangerous but not a big problem.

Also just an idea... A DVD player in the room would also be a great idea. However thanks for a lovely stay at a great price and for accomodating us such last minute!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ewilson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sittingbourne
0.7 km away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
#4 of 6 in Sittingbourne
483 reviews
3.8 km away
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 6 in Sittingbourne
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,193 reviews
6.6 km away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
379 reviews
5.0 km away
Premier Inn Sittingbourne Kent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonge Barn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonge Barn

Property: Tonge Barn
Address: Tonge Mill Church Road | Church Road Tonge, Sittingbourne ME9 9AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,697 - ₹ 12,382
Hotel Class:4 star — Tonge Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonge near Sittingbourne is the setting for this Grade II listed 17th Century Tonge Barn which has recently been converted to form well appointed en-suite accommodation and function facilities. The Barn was formerly part of Tonge Mill Country Park and the Mill Pond whitch dates back to 450AD. The Tonge Barn is centrally located for accessibility to Sittingbourne, Faversham and Canterbury, and has its own beautifully landscaped gardens and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tonge Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonge Barn Sittingbourne, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing