We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
207
182
105
47
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
182
105
47
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern hotel coniston hotel mood lighting frosted glass car park lighting system set menu porridge evening meal high standard stayed for one night breakfast was excellent plenty of parking lovely room saturday night reception wedding
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2016

I booked a standard room for the 12th Febuary, for my boyfriends birthday. For what i paid i was really shocked by the size of the room. It was larger than expected and a pink window haha. The girls at the reception were very welcoming and helpful. Only problem i had was the mattress was a bit hard and i did request to be on the top floor and wasnt but nothing to complain about. Only wish i had paid for us to have breakfast! Thank you i will definitely be booking again soon!

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Candy448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia M, Revenue Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sittingbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Sittingbourne - The Coniston.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel though your request regarding the top floor was not met. We will pass your feedback onto the hotel and look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
The Coniston Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We stayed here for a couple of nights as a base to explore local attractions over a weekend. As other reviewers have stated the rooms are attractively modern with a glass-walled bath/shower area and plenty of space. Wifi is good quality though the TVs are a bit small. The main complaint - and hence the reason for the 4 stars - is that they have installed push-button toilets throughout and they don't properly flush.

The staff are friendly though several gave the impression that they were new and still learning the ropes. The bar area is OK, though a bit stark and as with all Holiday Inns, drinks prices are a little on the high side with only standard 'main brand' beer and lagers. Restaurant food was good quality though again prices, including the wines, were a little on the high side.

Would stay again however.

Room Tip: Not a noisy location but away from the main road would be better
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyExplorer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Staff were expecting us when we checked in. Reception staff, were polite and friendly. A business networking event was sponsored by the Holiday Inn for which we are most appreciative.

The room allocated to us was warm, clean and well laid out.

Teas and coffee's were provided by our host. Crockery was seen to be clean, well laid out and plentiful in supply. Additional water was requested by some guests and this was attended to promptly by courteous staff. Those of our attendees, who preferred to use the bar, were served promptly

The room assigned for the event was large enough to allow people to stand and mingle.

The car park was spacious enough to accommodate the additional footfall and the exterior was clean to a high standard. The reception area, although small was comfortable with sofa's which were modern and contemporary.

All in all the event was a success helped by the ambience and attentive staff. Well done Holiday Inn.

Kaz Macklin
Member Representative
Kent Invicta Chamber of Commerce

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia M, Revenue Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sittingbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent visit to Holiday Inn Sittingbourne - The Coniston.

We are glad that the hotel met your expectations and you were happy with the room provided for the networking.

We will pass on all your comments to the hotel staff who were on shift that night and hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
The Coniston Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

I have stayed twice in the last month at this hotel which was previously a Best Western known as The Coniston. The rooms are very comfortable and modern with everything you would expect to find. On my first visit I had an issue with the door to my room not locking . The staff could not immediately repair so I was quickly moved to an alternative room. The selection of food on the bar menu is not large , but what we had was delicious.
We had a corporate event on my second visit which was very well co ordinated by the hotel. The staff were very patient with my various requests and always had a smile.
The evening meal was well presented and quickly served.
Breakfast gorgeous and no complaints for my endless pots of tea requests.
Tracy was especially helpful and the poor guys on the bar very tolerant of our lively banter.
Will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annielou11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia M, Revenue Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sittingbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Sittingbourne - The Coniston.

We are pleased to hear that you have returned to the hotel a couple of times this month and although experienced an issue with your door in the first visit, the staff were prompt in helping you move rooms and didn't affect your decision to stay at the hotel again.

We will pass your feedback regarding your corporate event to the events team and make sure all staff members are aware of your comments from the night.

Thank you for naming Tracey as a key member of staff during your stay and we will make sure she is aware of your comments.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon

Kind regards
The Coniston Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Hotel has recently been re branded as Holiday inn, very modern and fresh. The problem I had was with a dog constantly barking in a neighbouring garden all night, it had a barking fit lasting a minute about every half hour so just when you think it's stopped and you may be able to sleep, it starts again. I stayed here 6 months ago when the hotel was a best western and had the same problem, clearly nothing has been done about this nuisance. I complained to reception at checkout but the guy didn't seem interested and just sympathised in a what can anyone do kind of way. Surely the hotel can take it up with the local authority. Don't care about the rest of the hotel, if you can't sleep then it's not important as I pointed out to the receptionist. Won't be staying again.

Room Tip: Don't bother, it's noisy at the front and back.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudge1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichSBlair, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sittingbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Dear Smudge1970,

Thank you for choosing to staying at the Holiday Inn Sittingbourne - The Coniston.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I am sorry to hear that the residential area nearby disturbed your nights sleep. Your feedback has been shared with management as we aim to be better with each and every stay.

If you would like to discuss this matter further please, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01795 410560.

Richard Blair
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne - The Coniston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews