We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic country and pub and restuarant - a delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose and Crown

Rose and Crown
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Pluckley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Rose and Crown at Mundy Bois is your quintessential County pub in the middle of an idyllic part of Kent. The 17th Century building has seen some comings and goings over the years but is now in the safe hands of Dermot and Lisa Nally since November 2013. The promise is to deliver a warm and friendly welcome to all our visitors and hope that they can relax and enjoy the experience. Head Chef Tony Lemaitre has over 30 years' experience in the kitchen sharpening his skills in the Hotels and restaurants of Paris before bringing all his spirit and Joie de vivre to the pubs and restaurants of Kent. Tony is supported by his sous chef Robert Clark whose work and training under Tony has created one of the finest long talents in the area. Front of House we have Alex Ralph who has been working in pubs all his career and defines everything that is great and good In the hospitality industry. The Rose and Crown is building the bonds between the good old fashion pubs atmospheres aligned to a first class restaurant serving locally sourced produce while understanding, we are at the end of the day, just a pub serving the local community.
Bethersden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic country and pub and restuarant - a delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Finally had the pleasure of being able to get to the Rose & Crown to try out their menu and it was superb and I had the pleasure of twice in one weekend! The manu is prepared by French Head Chef Tony Lemaitre renowned in the area for his fantastic food. Friday night I went with a friend and had a starter of the calamari which was so tender and delicious, my friend commented that it was the best calamari she’s ever had and that’s going some as she’s travelled far and wide. For the main I had the Surf and Turf, it was just delicious, the garlic prawns are out of this world. It was all cooked to perfection and a lovely combination with sauté potatoes and salad and I asked for a peppercorn sauce on the side which wasn’t a problem.

Sunday I took family there for Sunday lunch and again what a delight. The meats come direct from a local farmer- so straight off the farm and no middle man. I had the roast beef and some of the party had the roast leg of lamb, the quality of the meat is one of the best I’ve ever tried. Accompanied by beautiful home made Yorkshire puddings and delicious crunchy on the outside, fluffy in the middle roast potatoes accompanied by fresh seasonal vegetables it is superb, and the price as well – fantastic value for money. I couldn’t resist the calamari again to start and some of the party went for the crème brulee for dessert which they said was delicious.

I would highly recommend the Rose & Crown and with Tony Lemaitre as the Head Chef and Alex at the front of house, Andy the landlord really cannot go wrong with his new team. The atmosphere was lovely, really buzzing. Friday night was so busy … I actually had a problem trying to park!

Well done the new team at the Rose & Crown!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodiegirl191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    53
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely to find a place to eat Gluten free safely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Visited last week, and had a lovely gluten free meal and felt very confident that i would not be ill after, Lovely friendly pub and restaurant, Chef Tony totally understands about Coeliac and cross contamination. He will explain all on the menu that you can or cannot eat and makes sure he uses separate boards etc, Had a lovely meal with no worries about any cross contamination. excellent service. Will certainly return again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank amethystvenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a joy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

What a joy, with service and atmosphere this good you can't go wrong.

A joy to drink and eat there. Lots of happy faces both sides of the bar. Service perfect. Food lovely. A relaxed and friendly environment. A proper country pub. Not just for locals and their dogs, but for tourists too. Lovely. Will definately visit again and again......

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank KentishBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethersden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub and fine restaurant (ignore photo!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Thank you so much for the re-opening of this fantastic country pub in a beautiful location. I went along to the launch night which was for drinks and canapes and it was extremely successful and very busy with lots of happy customers all so pleased that it has finally reopened with a strong, experienced and professional team behind it.

Booked to go for dinner in a couple of weeks and I can't wait and will leave another review then. As above, with locally well-known French Head Chef Tony Lemaitre previously of Elvey Farm (just down the lane) the food is going to be fantastic and lucky Mundy Bois customers!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodiegirl191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a quaint and quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We ate here with family as part of my parents Golden Wedding Anniversary celebration and I have no doubt this is a hidden gem. The atmosphere when we walked in was very relaxed with a warm open fire crackling away and local drinks on offer. We sampled both the local beer and wine and it was superb. The food served was both fresh and very tasty, the prawn starter being a real favourite. At no point were we rushed even though it was a Saturday night. The place had a real buzz about it and all the locals made us feel very welcome. A great find and at £25 for 3 courses (weekends, £20 during the week) a really reasonable restuarant. I will be returning and thank you for making my parents feel very special in their 50th year of marriage.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tofters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

 

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing