We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
211
143
57
41
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
211
143
57
41
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view executive room kitchen area a bit tired large room friendly hotel wet room wedding reception waiting staff nothing too much trouble great weekend sea front breakfast was excellent stayed here for one night enjoyable stay town centre lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

we had a large room with a bay window looking out to the sea, very comfortable bed and clean with a great breakfast in the morning, very helpful and friendly reception staff.
I would definitely stay again

Room Tip: a sea view is nice
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WestdaleLlandudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Location of hotel was beautiful, view from the seafront windows lovely. Peaceful hotel. Could do with updating. Wanted to eat at the hotel, but menu was not to our liking.
No vegetarian option for evening meal or breakfast. Would not want to stay more than 1 night. Wifi was available but really, really slow. Rooms were small and cramped.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank helenruss2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

If internet connectivity is important to you, stay somewhere else. At no point throughout my 2 night stay did I manage to get internet connectivity on either a tablet or a laptop. Although able to connect to the wifi router in my 2nd floor room, the router was not connected to the internet. And I failed to connect at all to the ground floor router by reception. As a IT Consultant myself, from what I observed the technical setup of the network was poor and would be prone to failure. The reception staff seemed uninterested in my complaints, and were unwilling to even acknowledge their might be a problem. To advertise "free wifi" then to shrug their shoulders when a customer complains its not working is not on.

The cooked breakfast options are cooked to order, and to be fair are excellent. However there appears to be only one chef. Consequently the coffee and toast is stone cold by the time the cooked breakfast appears some 30 to 40 minutes after the coffee and toast.

The room whilst clean and adequate had several annoying features - an internal self closing door, no curtains just a translucent office style vertical blind, and no obvious way of tuning on the extractor fan in the (internal) bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MRC_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Stayed here for one night. Very friendly staff who were helpful and gave us help with directions and restaurant suggestions. Had a suite with a view of the carpark which was quiet. The room was huge with a big bed, sitting room and bathroom with modern fittings, roll top bath and big waterfall shower. All very clean although the decor was a bit dated. Breakfast was a let down - ingredients seemed a bit cheap. Close to the centre of Margate, about a 15 minute walk. Free parking was helpful. Staff even posted some earrings home that we left in the room. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a suite with a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Suzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Smiths Court situated facing the sea in Cliftonville Margate provided us with a light, clean and spacious room complete with comfortable four-poster bed and included breakfast comprising of the usual cereal choices and also a cooked breakfast if one chooses. We have stayed before and found it as good today as it was just a few years ago and the vaue is excellent.
Personal Comment. When we did stay there a few years ago the exterior was in much better conditiion i.e the paintwork was lighter where today it is a dark maroon which we thought did not do its appearance any favours and most definitely the hotels frontdoor is in urgent need of attention - it is tatty.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are best
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews