We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”

Turner Contemporary
Ranked #12 of 59 things to do in Margate
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Turner Contemporary is a pioneering visual arts organisation using our namesake’s spirit of radical enquiry to activate art and people, in our galleries and beyond. Located in an elegant purpose-built gallery, designed by David Chipperfield Architects, the gallery looks out on the very views that JMW Turner immortalised in many of his key works. Turner Contemporary presents a rolling programme of temporary exhibitions, events and learning opportunities which make intriguing links between historic and contemporary art. The gallery offers a space for everyone to discover different ways of seeing, thinking and learning.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This place is interesting, and quite quirky. It’s great that it’s free to visit. The installations were a bit different to look at. There were quite a lot of interactive features, so it would be great for children. I look forward to seeing other exhibits they offer in the future.

Thank HellyWelly93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCMargate, Visitor Experience Manager at Turner Contemporary, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your review, it's a pleasure to hear that you had a good time during your visit to the gallery and enjoyed our current exhibition.

The next exhibition, 'Animals & Us' which will run from 25th May - 30th September, explores artists’ reflections on the relationship between humans and other animals.The exhibition focuses on contemporary and 20th century art with select historical artworks, new works and commissions. It comes at a time when around 38% of all known species are on the verge of extinction. With the death of Sudan, the last male northern white rhinoceros, Animals & Us is a re-examination by over 40 artists of how humans coexist and connect with other living species.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"current exhibition"
in 44 reviews
"on display"
in 105 reviews
"tracey emin"
in 50 reviews
"modern building"
in 20 reviews
"great gallery"
in 26 reviews
"great space"
in 25 reviews
"free admission"
in 23 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 93 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 23 reviews
"art galleries"
in 20 reviews
"gift shop"
in 51 reviews
"harbour wall"
in 19 reviews
"old town"
in 75 reviews
"sea front"
in 41 reviews
"seaside town"
in 19 reviews
"visiting margate"
in 18 reviews
"exhibits"
in 262 reviews
Filter

128 - 132 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We have visited before and we were looking forward to doing so again. Mixed review for the Wasteland exhibition but building up to its usual standards.

Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCMargate, Visitor Experience Manager at Turner Contemporary, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your review, it's great to hear that you enjoy visiting the gallery and your thoughts on our current exhibition.

TripAdvisor has a mystical algorithm which determines our ranking, Margate is lucky to have a number of great things to see and do and we are pleased to be ranked alongside them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

It was ok, but not sure we'd return. Free admission was nice but not roo much to tempt us back. I think there was one Turner.

Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCMargate, Visitor Experience Manager at Turner Contemporary, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the gallery.

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy the exhibition on this occasion, we don't have a permanent collection and so we show a series of temporary exhibitions throughout the year.

We hope to see you again at the gallery in the future at another exhibition that will hopefully be more to your taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Found myself there as time on my hands , shop looked well stocked , first exhibit , ground floor , sat inside for a while and really enjoyed the space it gave me , continued upstairs and was presented with lots of goodies to read , see , watch, interact , with overall great visit.....

Thank end22016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCMargate, Visitor Experience Manager at Turner Contemporary, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for your review, it's always a pleasure to hear how our visitors spend their time with us at the gallery and what it is that they enjoy. Hopefully we will see the next time you have a bit of time on your hands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent use of the space it is free to use and you can make a donation. Great to promote young artists and visionary people who have their artwork displayed for our enjoyment.

Thank maddieTetbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCMargate, Visitor Experience Manager at Turner Contemporary, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you for your review, it's wonderful to know that you enjoyed your visit to the gallery. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turner Contemporary also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Turner Contemporary? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing