We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
creepy

this is a creepy visit but also fun. A grotto made of shells in tunnels and there is a room a... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
BazRex
,
London, United Kingdom
Unique place for quick visit

Very unusual, unique little "museum" & well worth a visit.Interesting patterns made with shells... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
16carol
,
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Read all 1,071 reviews
  
Reviews (1,071)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveller rating
580
344
89
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
344
89
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews million shells gift shop sea shells mysterious place intricate patterns worth a visit residential area hidden treasure small cafe hidden away side street unique experience interesting place to visit per adult family ticket little gem rainy day
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

this is a creepy visit but also fun. A grotto made of shells in tunnels and there is a room a seance was done in. Its interesting

Thank BazRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very unusual, unique little "museum" & well worth a visit.Interesting patterns made with shells - history unknown. Sweet little shop + coffee shop with very friendly staff. Suitable for all ages, though set on a hillside so some restrictions sensible.

Thank 16carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited this with my little granddaughters. It was my first visit even though I’ve lived here for years! Amazing place even though it’s only small, and fascinating to see. Not expensive to get in and a lovely gift shop and tea room. Well worth a visit but don’t expect to be there for hours. Great as part of a tour round Margate.

Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It’s what you expect it would be. It’s cool to check out and the “mystery” of it makes it more special. Couldn’t spend much more than 20mins there in total though.

1  Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This unusual and very ethereal place is a delight. Great gift shop and cafe too. A real must see when in the area.

Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Shell Grotto is Margate's mystery, no one knows when it was created or who by. At only £4 for an adult ticket it's worth the walk up the hill to visit. Lots of information is given, we found it very interesting.

Thank JackieW21234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Shell Grotto is very well worth a visit. It's intriguing and quite a mystery. Beautiful cards for sale in the gift shop. Take the time to see if you can spot the designs (you'll be given a map). Very atmospheric. Thank you.

Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place to visit. It's hidden away but well worth searching out.If your in Margate find it and be amazed.

Thank 879stevegil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited with our three children aged 11, 8 and 1. There were lots of ‘wow!s’ from our children (even the 1 year old) I found the grotto a little bit creepy personally, not sure what it was, perhaps the photo of the seance that historically took place there! (shivers*) - the shells are amazing though. The work that’s gone into it is absolutely astounding. My husband is convinced it must have been made using witchcraft! An interesting talking point and a real curiosity. Kids were free during half term so that was a bonus, staff were really friendly and the gift shop was amazing (we couldn’t tear ourselves away from all the pretty shells and ornaments!). Also the milkshakes in the cafe are highly recommended!

Thank Majid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you like fascinating little sites, this is for you! It’s a little walk through that is literally covered in different shells. There’s a little history about it too.
£4 seems a lot to pay when you’re in there for less than 10 minutes, but it really is lovely to wander through. I love anything bit weird though, I can see why others might disagree!
The shop has lots to look at and the 4 table cafe is cute too.

Thank AMyers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews