We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous B&B with amazing breakfasd”
Review of The Reading Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Reading Rooms
Ranked #2 of 11 Margate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Probably the best breakfast I have ever had at any hotel or B&B. Located in a pretty Georgian square and beautifully furnished. The rooms are large and airy, and the owners are very friendly.
Margate is a lot less grim than I remember it being when I was a kid, the Old Town is pretty and there are lots of interesting places to eat. If you are there in the summer, go for a swim in the Lido.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theRRMargate, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thanks so much for leaving us such a lovely review. The open air swimming is probably not the Lido (that's filled in!) but the gorgeous grade II listed Walpole Bay Tidal Pool just 10 mins away. A 4 acre infinity pool! Glorious! People really enjoy swimming there all year round. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed in Room 3 and everything about the place is incredible, it was all of the little details that made it so great. The decor, the food and all its trimmings, and especially the service from Louise & Liam.

A very relaxed, but special approach to a B&B and perhaps the finest I’ve experienced.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theRRMargate, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Very best wishes from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Such a beautiful place to stay. The room and bathroom were exquisite - felt like total luxury. Really friendly. Lots of little touches have been thought of. Amazing breakfast. Great location in walking distance of everything you would want in margate.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank FoghornWilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theRRMargate, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you so so much! It's always a pleasure to look after such lovely guests. We love breakfasts ourselves so important to us that we make sure our guests have a real treat on holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

It's difficult to put into words how much we enjoyed our stay here, it's a beautiful building with wonderful rooms, a massive comfy bed, netflix and the best breakfast I've had anywhere. I would highly recommend this place to anyone but especially if you are going for a romantic weekend away, nothing quite like having a breakfast like that delivered to your room.
Margate itself is also really worth the visit, really up and coming town with historic bits as well as some fantastic restaurants and cafes.

Room Tip: The top floor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights for my partners birthday. Our room was very spacious and beautifully decorated, the bathroom as well was huge with a roll top bath and decadent shower.

The best thing was not seeing any other guests, it was very private, you are given a long list of what to choose for breakfast the night before and asked what time you would like breakfast and then it is bought to your room the next morning.

Reading Rooms is set over a beautiful quiet Square, the hosts even provided parking permits for a tiny fee and were hospitable in every way.

Will definitely be going back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Batsy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theRRMargate, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks so much for such a lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. One of the reasons we decided to offer for room service breakfasts was the privacy factor. Very best wishes, Louise and Liam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.4 km away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
746 reviews
1.5 km away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
533 reviews
0.6 km away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
82 reviews
3.1 km away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
1.1 km away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reading Rooms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Rooms

Address: 31 Hawley Square, Margate CT9 1PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range: ₹ 8,157 - ₹ 15,455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique bed and breakfast in a grade II listed Georgian townhouse. Three rooms, each occupying an entire floor of a 1760s house, overlooking a tree lined historic square at the edge of Margate's Old Town, situated 5 minutes walk from the seafront and the Turner Contemporary gallery. Each room has it's own large private fully tiled ensuite with a roll-top bath, walk in mosaic shower with floor to ceiling glass shower screen and double basin. Beds are bespoke hand-carved super king size from East London based specialists La Maison, luxury complimentary toiletries from Ren Skincare. Wardrobes are french armoires. Breakfasts, featuring fresh pressed juices and local produce are served as room service, delivered at a time of the guest's choosing on antique butler trays and served on dining tables by the window. Dressing gowns and slippers provided. Free super fast wifi is available in each room. We're only bookable exclusively direct, unavailable on booking sites. Just Google us and we're there! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Reading Rooms Hotel Margate
The Reading Rooms Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing