We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
195
21
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
21
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathtop floorgeorgian squarequiet squarefirst floorold townlovely ren productsmassive bathroomsash windowsthree roomsdressing gownsromantic breakhouse is beautifulhome cooked breakfastmuesliturner gallerybeautiful decor
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights for my partners birthday. Our room was very spacious and beautifully decorated, the bathroom as well was huge with a roll top bath and decadent shower.

The best thing was not seeing any other guests, it was very private, you are given a long list of what to choose for breakfast the night before and asked what time you would like breakfast and then it is bought to your room the next morning.

Reading Rooms is set over a beautiful quiet Square, the hosts even provided parking permits for a tiny fee and were hospitable in every way.

Will definitely be going back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Batsy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theRRMargate, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks so much for such a lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. One of the reasons we decided to offer for room service breakfasts was the privacy factor. Very best wishes, Louise and Liam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

A few minutes walk from the Old Town with nice quirky shops ( loved the lighthouse shop) the beach, the Turner gallery and Dreamland. Easy to park in the square where the B&B is. We also spent a day in Ramsgate and enjoyed a local architecture walk and finding blue plaques. Didn't realise what an interesting history both Margate and Ramsgate had.
We enjoyed our stay at the Reading rooms, room beautiful with lots of nice little touches and breakfast yummy. Thank you

Room Tip: We picked the top room, room 3. Had great views of the town and sea.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claytongem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theRRMargate, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thanks so much for your lovely review of your stay with us. The walk sounds great! There's so much history here to discover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

What a gorgeous bed & breakfast run by Louise and Liam. The time and care taken to make it a wonderful retreat for visitors is clear. With the massive bathroom and delicious breakfast, we had such a great time and would recommend the Reading Rooms to anyone travelling to Margate.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Red1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theRRMargate, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay with us. Best wishes, Louise and Liam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Fabulous house on a Georgian square just a few minutes' walk from Margate's lovely Old Town. Louise & Liam have created something really special here, with each room occupying a whole floor of the house - bedrooms and bathrooms are enormous.

We had Room 2 - up a couple of flights of stairs - and with three giant sash windows overlooking Hawley Square, it was wonderfully airy and felt like we were in the trees.
Breakfast - delivered to the room - was a marvellous feast of the best food, beautifully prepared (there's an extensive list to make your choices from the night before).
Parking on the square requires a visitor's permit, but Louise made this very easy for us.

We had been wanting to book a stay at the Reading Rooms for a few years now; it was worth the wait.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelmeistersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theRRMargate, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you so much for such a lovely review of your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Well, where do we begin in complimenting Louise and Liam for their remarkable dedication and commitment to The awesome Reading Rooms. We have been to some amazing hand picked hotels, all top class however, this little gem tops them all. The reviews are not lying what you see in the photos is what you get, beautifully decorated rooms with perfect bathrooms offering bespoke toiletries adding to the whole package. You just will not believe the home cooked breakfast without a doubt when it's delivered to your room your response will most definitely be WOW as ours was, it's presented impeccably with generous size portions home made jams and bread fresh fruit and fruit smoothies, juices of your choice full English breakfast with top quality produce you just cannot fault it. There is a list of breakfast choices to be completed each night and left for Louise and Liam who prepare it fresh for you at whatever time you want it, seriously it's up to you as what time you would like it. where can you get this service anywhere.else? I do not know any other hotel offering this amazing service and, you can if you wish order everything from the menu it's not a problem as we did on our first day we just couldn't decide as the choice was so appetising we couldn't make our minds up so ordered almost everything It was delivered to our room the following morning with a smile and a good morning from the lovely couple they didn't mind in the least that we had ordered all from the menu however we really struggled eating everything as there was so much but didn't want to leave it as it was fantastic. The next days breakfast was going to be a sensible choice and it was still amazing always consistent every day PERFECTION as stated above. Do treat yourself to this fantastic better than B/B it's a lovely home you will not be sorry promise you. Keep up the good work Louise and Liam and our thanks to you for making our stay with you memorable. .

Room Tip: Room 3 has quite a number of stairs so book room 1 or 2 if stairs are a problem
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lovekin47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theRRMargate, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you so much! It was an absolute pleasure looking after you. We always thought you should be able to have what you like and whenever you like it when it comes to breakfast! Thanks again. Louise and Liam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews