We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st visit”

Truly Scrumptious cafe
Ranked #8 of 78 Restaurants in Hythe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were very helpful and polite, Food of good quality, service second to none, prices excellent. Certainly not my last visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Owner at Truly Scrumptious cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Cheryl
A big thankyou for writing such a terrific review on TA! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. Now the weather is finally warming up it is so nice that people can sit outside and soak up the sunshine. We really hope you can pop in again soon!
Jo and Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the best beakfasts we have had even better on a beautiful morning with excellent service and an outside eating area.

Thank CharterHouse2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Owner at Truly Scrumptious cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Charterhousee2018
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TA! We are really glad you enjoyed your breakfast. We are even more glad that you managed to sit outside in the sunshine as the weather has not been on our side lately. We really do hope that you can pop in again soon.
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were passing through Hythe and were in need of some afternoon drinks on a dreary, rainy Easter Monday. We hit upon the Truly Scrumptious cafe and I was delighted to see that they had a nice range of cakes and a Kentish cream tea.

We ordered at the counter and then negotiated our way to the back of this tiny, cramped but homely little cafe and waited for everything to be prepared freshly. My cream tea was OK - it came with a pot of tea protected in a little knitted tea cosy. My goodness, the tea was strong... The family had slices of an absolutely delicious carrot cake and thick chocolate cake, with large mugs of cafe latte and hot chocolate, the latter with loads of cream and a separate bowl of mini marsh mallows.

Fortunately, given that we arrived late afternoon and not long before closing, the cafe wasn't very full. Which was just as well - there isn't a lot of space inside here. And I can imagine that if it is full with shoppers with bags, large coats, prams, wheel chairs then it could get very cosy indeed.

As it was, we were the last guests and had a chance to talk to the friendly staff as they busied themselves with clearing and sweeping up around us.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eyekaytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Owner at Truly Scrumptious cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Eyekaytoo
We are so glad you were able to write a review on TA. I do remember your visit and we are really glad that you enjoyed it! Your family were a delight and I remember the conversation of you living in Cologne and our discussions about Shanghai. We would of course love a bigger cafe when the weather is poor, but as you say you had plenty of space at the end of the day as everyone else had departed. Really nice chatting with you and when next drive across from Cologne pop in when the sun is shining as it is glorious on the market square sitting and watching the world go by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely place to eat some great food at a reasonable price. We went at lunchtime and as expected they were busy. We found that the tables were a little too close to each other for comfort. If you sat down no one else could get past you!
Food was excellent and toilet facilities are very nice. Great range of cakes on display and they even cater for gluten free customers.
I'll definitely be visiting again, but perhaps at a less busy time.

Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Owner at Truly Scrumptious cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear claire
Thankyou so much for your thoughts and taking the time to write such a lovely review on TA. We work hard to provide good value tasty meals especially popular with our gluten free customers too! It is tricky during this cold and rainy weather spell to fit everyone in and are saying a little prayer that the weather will warm up soon to allow everyone to get a seat inside or outside. We look forward to you popping in again soon. Here's hoping the sun will be shining outside on the square.
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time visit last week - loved it, wished it had been warmer to sit out but inside was cosy and warm. Scones were gorgeous. Definitely pay a visit when next in town

Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Owner at Truly Scrumptious cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Wendy
We are so glad you took the time to write such a lovely review on TA. The weather has not been fabulous recently and so even more of an excuse to have a lovely cream tea! We are so glad you enjoyed it and really hope you pop on your next visit to Hythe.
Many thanks Jo and Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Truly Scrumptious cafe also viewed

 

Been to Truly Scrumptious cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing