We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Herne Bay's best kept Secret” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Poisson

Le Petit Poisson
Ranked #13 of 133 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 13 - US$ 44
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on the Herne Bay seafront overlooking the harbour next to the pier, we specialise in seafood. All our dishes are cooked to order using fersh locally sourced seasonal ingredients and our black board menu evolves with the seasons, (it's available to view on our web site). Fully licensed; with a good selection of international and local, wines and beers. Our talented and friendly chefs are happy to cater for special dietary requirements given sufficient notice. PLEASE NOTE: We don't do fast food, "Fish & Chips", "Scampi in a Basket" etc!!
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Herne Bay's best kept Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great intimate and friendly atmosphere and a fantastic menu, all fresh and local seafood,

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    135
    43
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Special family meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Last year when I was visiting my sister who had recently moved to Herne Bay, I found Le Petit Poisson's website and booked lunch for myself, my sister and brother. We were pleasantly surprised by the delicious meal, attentive service and position of the restaurant beside the sea. My brother and his wife then visited for their wedding anniversay last June. This June I was again visiting Herne Bay and arranged to have a family reunion for my 20th wedding anniversay over lunch at Little Fish, this time accompanied by my husband, son, sister ,brother and his wife. We were all impressed with the food and service. I'm sure that I will be down this way again and hope to enjoy another lovely meal at Le Petit Poisson.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Seaside Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is an intimate and cosy restaurant situated on Herne Bay seafront at the end of the pier. It has a select, mainly seafood menu, which never fails to please. The food is exciting and beautifully cooked and the wine list is comprehensive and not overly expensive.

The staff are welcoming and courteous, offering an excellent unobtrusive service.

It is necessay to book at the weekend, but be wary of using the website as it often says they are fully booked, when a telephone call ensures a table with no problem. I would recommend booking a table in the late evening for atmosphere, as the restaurant can be very quiet before 8.30 ish.

Definitely the place to eat in Herne Bay, but be aware that there will be a very limited non-seafood choice.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolynKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best in Herne Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We live in 'The Bay' but generally don't eat out in the town because the standard is poor. Le Petit Poisson is the exception and we go there regularly, either on our own or with friends. The standard of the food has always been excellent but you really need to like seafood as the other options are limited. The ambience is pleasant and friendly and my complaints are minor. As a regular visitor I would like a few more variations to the menu and I think the coffee could be better. However that seems to be a general problem in this country and it is no worse here than most places.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Saturday 12 May 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Our family 15 of us in all including a seven and a five year old spent a wonderful evening at
the Le Petit Poisson to help our dad celebrate his 89 birthday. The food was excellent and we were looked after extremly well which is not always easy with such a large group. We have been
to the restaurant before but in smaller groups and will most certainly go again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Poisson also viewed

 
Herne Bay, Kent
Herne Bay, Kent
 

Been to Le Petit Poisson? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing