We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect...”
Review of Railway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Railway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Faversham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

It is a shame that only one thing stopped this hotel from achieving a perfect score and even more so that it is the same thing commented on by a previous reviewer but I'll look at all the positives first. The room was fantastic and really decorated to a high standard. The paintings, the high windows, the decorative fireplace in our room and the clean, crisp, immaculate sheets and towels waiting for us were so inviting. A gorgeous chandelier hung from the ceiling and the bed was really comfy and gave an excellent nights sleep. The room was very hot but being january we just opened the massive windows for a cool night and although we were only 50yards from the train station the trains didn't seem to bother us at all. The welcome we recieved was warm and this friendliness was recieved from every person we met associated with the hotel. The owners really are trying to get away from a tacky high street pub atmosphere and are succeeding in this with many real ales, good conversation and no happy hour and they are more than happy to point out that a Weatherspoon exists a couple of hundred yards down the road and with cheaper beer to boot. The pub itself is perfectly situated for both the station and the town centre, the latter being only a 5 minute walk. We didn't use the restaurant as we had prearranged plans but the menu, under the new head chef looked really enticing and the food is, wherever possible, locally sourced and this seems to be something the owners are deliberately trying to acheive. Our breakfast, included in the fairly reasonable price, was all locally sourced and the menu proudly stated where each component came from and how far away that particular farm was. I have to say it tasted great as well. As mentioned earlier though I only have one critisism. If a bathroom only has a shower it needs to be a good one. The shower pressure was so poor that I had to half crouch whilst holding the attachment over my head and wash with just one hand and unfortunately for me, a good shower in the morning is one of the most important parts of the stay. Overall though I would definitely recommend the hotel and if I ever need to come back to Faversham I will book here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kentishman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

Rooms are excellently furnished and very comfortable. Staff are friendly and a good breakfast. It's on the edge of town and opposite the station so not the quietest but I'm a light sleeper and had an excellent nights sleep. Will go back.

Room Tip: 1 is small but they say so, 4 and 5 are lovely rooms (I saw all these but am sure the others are sim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanPMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

What a find. Is this a hotel, or a superb pub with rooms? Well, it's both! The Railway retains bags of Victorian character but in a modern, uncluttered, no-swirly-carpets kind of way. The gorgeous three-room bar offers TV-and-games-machine-free civilised calm, excellent beer, and bar billards. The rooms might be basic but they are cosy and comfortable - and terrific value at these B&B rates. Add a friendly welcome from the owners and staff, plus superb breakfast and you have the perfect base from which to explore this lovely corner of England. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EalingOtterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Railway Hotel, our first visit to this part of Kent, but definitely not the last. We had a very warm welcome and our double room was spacious and comfortable - no fussy details. Once upstairs we were unaware of the pub below. Coffee and tea making facilities are provided, along with big bath towels and nice toiletries. Breakfast was excellent with lots of fresh fruit, homemade preserves and local produce. Faversham is a great base for exploring the coast from and the friendly staff at the hotel are knowledgable about the area and had good recommendations of places to see and eat at. It seems to be quite a foodie area, and of course great beer in the pub.

We would certainly stay there again, for comfort and great value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebonyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Good sized rooms, nicely furnished, curtains a bit saggy letting in the flashing lights from the zebra crossing. Lovely freindly atmoshphere to the pub, with very good real ale and a good selection of whiskies and brandies. Excellent breakfast, local produce used throughout, excellent marmalade and jam made by the landlord. Good standard of housekeeping, pleasant staff. Not too noisy outside considering it's in a town location across the road from a railway station. All in all good value for money. Don't know about the restaurant as it's only open from Wednesday to Saturday, we stayed on Sunday and Monday. Plenty of very good restaurants close by offering a variety of cuisines. Didn't get around to trying the bar billiards though.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baldy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faversham
2.1 km away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
398 reviews
4.7 km away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
7.6 km away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
8.9 km away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
419 reviews
11.5 km away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Hotel

Address: Preston Street, Faversham ME13 8PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Faversham
Price Range: ₹ 6,174 - ₹ 6,688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railway Hotel is a classic spacious Victorian hotel with seven en-suite bedrooms. Each room is comfortably appointed with ample tea/coffee making facilities, free unlimited wireless broadband and large car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Railway Hotel Faversham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing