We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
302
201
75
28
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
201
75
28
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balcony room lady hamilton wellington room shepherd neame lord nelson sea view large balcony lovely hotel roll top bath sound of the waves car park three rooms third floor first morning family room sea front seaside hotel
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Seems I may be following a previous comment made in November last year. Visiting family my sister and I made our way to the Royal that overlooks the sea and beach to meet friends for a drink on what was a warm sunny spring day, late afternoon. The Royal was busy with both guests and visitors, the bar being very busy, chatting with staff they were dealing with a busy afternoon and summer staff not even taken on yet - they were coping well! We withdrew to the upper area of the bar, enjoying a drink. One reason for the dropped star from the last visit was the number of dogs both in the bar and the hotel and being confronted by the largest St Bernard I had seen for a while at the table next to us.
Our friends left after an hour of a drink and chat and it was decided to take supper and place as order from a very good menu. The Crab and Dill mayo Italian bread was very tasty, with crusty chips the other dish was pulled salt beef and emmental cheese with salad and much enjoyed. One other comment young children not under the control of their parents was a spoiling moment. 0% Calsberg Lager very good.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank EricBirbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We booked a balcony room with roll top bath. The views across the sea were amazing, I loved sitting and watching the view from the room.
The food and service was very good and reasonably priced unlike some hotels of this class.
The hotel also gave us a generous discount because the heating on our floor did not work on our first night.
We have recommended the hotel to friends and family.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FCB_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile


Midweek stay to see a gig down the road in Walmer.
Recently redecorated room with access to veranda with dramatic views over Deal seafront and pier.

Luxuriously appointed en-suite with rolltop bath and separate modrn shower blending traditional with quaint - room worked really well.

We chose to have breakfast brought up to the room and we felt like royalty.

Exceeded expectations - good value, too

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ben t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Stayed overnight with family so had the opportunity to see two types of room. First the family room which was a nice size with two single beds and one double with excellent on suite facilities. The second was a balcony room (I think the are four, Hamilton,Nelson,Wellington and Churchill) We were amazed at the size and quality of the fitments let alone the views across the channel. Excellent toiletries, a good quality coffee maker including capsules and the usual tea and bickies. A warm and cosy room with a huge bed. Well worth the money. The breakfast menu was very good and extensive. We had an evening meal and this was good but understand that a new menu was being introduced the next day. In all a very good hotel with helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: best views are from the balcony rooms and probably the largest.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Husband and I have just come back from a short break at the Royal Hotel. We stayed in a feature room, the Wellington (one with bath in the window). Absolutely lovely ! The room was delightful, comfortable and spacious. The bed really comfy, and you could hear the sea crashing on the shore below us. We had a bath, which involved a bit of ducking, but to sit in the bath and look out over the sea was heaven, And coffee on the balcony in the morning sunshine ! All the staff were very polite and very friendly. We ate the first night in the hotel and the food was lovely comfortable pub food, all served very hot. Delicious. Good hearty breakfast. We are going back !!!

Room Tip: Book a feature room and be wowed !
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GDBGDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews