We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious and quiet very well equipped...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Barn

Entrance to The Old Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to The Old Barn
Front lighting Hot Tub outside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Entrance to The Old Barn
Front lighting
Hot Tub outside
Lounge
Dinning area with Bi-fold doors leading outside
Rear Garden with seating area
Kitchen
Kitchen with floor level LED lighting
Lounge
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with plenty of space in mirrored cupboards
Stairs leading to first floor
Downstairs utility room
Bathroom with LED lighting
Seperate shower in bathroom
Twin bedroom with exposed oak beams
Twin bedroom
Feature lights on stairs
Yarmouth pier- 5 minutes drive away
stairway
Landing area
first floor gallery view
Gaffers Festival in Yarmouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Familyman...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spacious and quiet very well equipped accommodation”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Old Barn is the largest of three cottages at Newclose Farm. Not actually in Yarmouth but about 5 minutes drive away or 20 minutes from Newport. Down a country lane so quiet apart from the occasional tractor or goose in the field next door. It seems to have been recently converted or renovated with a modern, clean, spacious interior. Lots of LED lighting around the floors as well as in the ceiling!

Double and a twin bedrooms plus bathroom upstairs. Downstairs the kitchen, hall and dining area are open plan with a lounge at the end. In the lounge there is a TV and blue-ray player and there were a few games, books and DVDs. There is also a cloakroom/utility room downstairs with 2nd toilet, washing machine, dryer, iron and board.

We couldn't get any mobile phone signal which was probably a blessing. However, the cottage does have wifi suitable for email, browsing and voice over internet calls (but not fast enough for video or games) so we weren't completely cut off.

At the back there is a little patio area but the weather was too wet and windy. However, we did enjoy the hot tub which is shared with the other cottages.

We ate in one evening - the kitchen was well equipped with oven, hob, microwave, fridge freezer, kettle, toaster and plenty of pots, pans and utensils - and at the Horse and Groom which is about five minutes away the other.

We were a couple with two children (12 & 15) staying two nights in Feb 2016 and it worked well for us. I noticed a high chair in one of the cupboards but those with very young children might find it too nerve racking as there is a lot of pale cream carpet and dangling roman blind cords.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Couldn't get the telescope on the landing to work
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick H
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic - Just like a home from home”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We only had the time to stay for two nights at "The Old Barn" and we were so disappointed that we couldn't stay for longer. The owners Kristina & Nick were so helpful and such nice people. Fantastic hosts. The Old Barn is an absolutely amazing place to stay. The pictures just do not do it justice. You couldn't wish for anything better. So peaceful. Situated on the "quieter" side of the Island in ideal surroundings but not too far away from any of the attractions the Island has to offer. It's like walking into someone's house. Everything is included even down to some very nice local produce to get you going. Immaculately kept and spotlessly clean. Kristina even kept the hot tub up and running for us which was the icing on the cake. We will be looking to return there as soon as we can find the time. There would be no hesitation from either of us to recommend "The Old Barn" to any one of our family and friends. Perfect! Thank you Kristina and Nick for making our stay a most memorable one ;-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old style of the building with the totally modern interior
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This review relates to one of the Cottages attached to the barn - NOT the barn itself. These are lovely little properties which are well appointed, well decorated and very comfortable. You also have the benefit of being able to use the hot tub, a per the main barn. The property has plenty of parking and a nice clean and tidy outdoor space for dining. The cottage had a double room with en-suite bathroom with bath/shower while the second bedroom featured twin beds and an attached room with toilet and sink.
Most importantly, the welcome was very warm and friendly and Kristina took the trouble to contact us ahead of arrival to tell us everything was ready and we could get in whenever we wanted. Fresh eggs. milk and bread, tea and coffee and a newspaper were awaiting our arrival.
We only stayed for a weekend but would have been very comfortable and happy to have spent a whole holiday there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall - the service and the ambience
Liked least: Some areas of decoration were in need of attention but this is being REALLY picky!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Spent the last week in August at The Old Barn and received a warm
welcome by Kristina. The Barn exceeded our expectations and there was
plenty of room for our two children to explore both inside and outside. The
hot tub was a real bonus too. The Old Barn's location was set in quiet
country side just a just a few minutes away from Yarmouth's town center
and was easy to find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: decor and space
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival my girlfriend and I were warmly welcomed by Nick who showed us around the property. There was a welcome basket prepared with eggs from next door, Nick also gave us some suggestions on where to eat. The property was amazing! Beautifully light LED stairs, bedroom, and bathroom which added to the no expenses spared feel to the house. No cheap furniture or cutlery to be found! The king size bed was very comfy and we have a lovely night sleep. It was a little noisy according to the girlfriend with the very strong winds we had during our stay but I slept very peacefully! Defiantly worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing