We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
77
104
38
22
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
77
104
38
22
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub food isle of wight apple pie ferry terminal piping hot coastal path
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2021 via mobile

Pub set up predominantly as a restaurant so struggled to find a chair. Bar Manager Stewart was friendly and welcoming with an awesome sense of humour. Restaurant table cleared so we could relax and have drinks and Stewart was really entertaining, so personable.
Would go again for a great atmosphere and fab selection of drinks.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hales300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2021

We stayed here one night. We had a large comfortable room with an unusually spacious en suite bathroom. Be warned though that they don’t have a separate shower, but rather a shower attachment to the bath taps. This was difficult to use due to the position of the bathtub under a sloped ceiling. The room also had old style sash windows that no longer fitted the window frames (we assume this is due to the pub being a Grade II listed building).

The pub itself has plenty of character and serves an excellent steak and ale pie. Staff were friendly and helpful, in particular a female member who kindly helped us to get our bags up the stairs when we arrived there; this was much appreciated after the long charity walk we had just completed.

Date of stay: September 2021
1  Thank Idamante10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

Lovely food and attentive service. It has a lovely friendly atmosphere. Enjoyed the pork stroganoff and my husband loved the mussel pot with a delightful sauce. Very friendly staff and very efficient service. Set in a desirable location.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Beccie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2021 via mobile

Went to the bugle tonight with the hope of getting some food after a long day at work. During the pandemic it was great, had to wait to be seated and always got a seat. Not now. Nobody there to greet you anymore, nobody even around to speak to you. Just Bruce the assistant manager on his day off drinking who didn’t even acknowledge anyone, just his mates.
Now unfortunately it only seems to cater to the people who want to stay and get drunk, even though spent the whole pandemic giving them custom when they were struggling. Now it’s seems nobody in there wants to know you unless you’re going to stay getting pissed.
Loved the bugle for a long time but unfortunately it’s starting to go backwards to the way it used to be, unfortunately it’s sad to say but won’t be returning any time soon. And it’s back to the wheatsheef for me.
Gutted as loved it there

Room tip: Only go if you want to stay and get drunk, as that’s all they care about now
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Beat103
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2021 via mobile

Just popped in for breakfast, lovely inn, very pleasant staff, breakfast tasty and reasonably priced. Would reccomend. Great location by ferry terminal, free parking outside on street and a car park close by.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 603anitab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews