We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$125
Priceline$125
Hotels.com$125
Travelocity$125
Destinia.com
Orbitz.com$125
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveller rating
319
286
108
59
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
319
286
108
59
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harry's bar sea view hovercraft terminal travelzoo deal coach trip isle of wight evening meal half board victorian hotel bus station night stay hover craft sea front room was large lovely hotel enjoyable stay lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 805 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2021

We stayed at this hotel last week and I must say we really had a great time, and what makes it a great stay is the staff, they were happy, professional and very accommodating and we will defo come back.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Lweller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Williamson, Marketing at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

Hello Lweller16
Thank you so much for your fab review.
So pleased to read you enjoyed interaction and service from our wonderful team.
Truly looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2021 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a family room with our two boys age 5 and 7. The room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The view of the hovercraft was fascinating for the boys! The hotel staff were very friendly and the boys were made to feel very much at home. I’d recommend this hotel for a great family break.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Liz035
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Williamson, Marketing at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

Hello Liz035
Thank you for your fab review.
So pleased to read that the boys had great fun watching the hovercrafts - it never gets old!
Truly hope to welcome your family back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2021

It’s always a pleasure to come back to this hotel. A chance to spend some time by the sea, walking , cycling and driving round the island. A stunning room with a view across the Solent. Room is so clean, the hotel is warm and welcoming. A comfy sofa to sit on in the lounge to have a drink and a piece of cake or a relaxing drink in Harry’s bar, a lovely atmosphere in the dining room for dinner and a seat with a view across the Solent in the breakfast area. A car park just round the corner. Local individual shops round the corners you take a slow walk up the hill. I have been here many times and the staff are always welcoming in alll areas of the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble to sort out. Thank you Booby and all the team for making my stay enjoyable. I’ve booked for 2022!

Room tip: If I tell you, I may not be able to book the room!
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Williamson, Marketing at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

Hello Carol T
Thank you for your fab review.
So pleased to read you took advantage of all the routes across the island from our hotel!
The team are all super stars and enjoy welcoming you.
We look forward to seeing you in 2022!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2021 via mobile

Lovely quant hotel on the esplanade & close to the hovercraft to Portsmouth. This hotel is charming & close to the town centre within walking distance. This hotel has the most beautiful view of the Solent & I loved the view of the ships going about their business.

Room tip: Ideal for a couple of days
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bigbird25059815784
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Williamson, Marketing at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

Hello bigbird25059815784
Thank you for your kind review.
Pleased to read that you enjoyed the charm of our hotel and you were able to take time and experience watching the ships (of different characters) work their way around the Solent.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021

We were on a 2 night break and had a superior seaview room (honeymoon suite!). The room was large and well decorated with a newly fitted bathroom. When booking, make sure you select the right catergory of room for your needs.
The hotel is Victorian and has an interesting history. A consequence is that there are a lot of stairs but there is a modern lift. If you are disabled make sure you discuss room access when booking.
The food and overall service is very good and the staff are friendly. For an extra change there is a secure car park. Opposite the hotel is the Ryde bus station and the Portsmouth/Ryde hovercraft terminal (foot passengers only).
We'd stay there again.

Room tip: Rooms on the front overlooking the Solent suffer from the noise of the early morning (6.00am) hovercraft flights which end at about 9.00pm
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Williamson, Marketing at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

Hello David Y
Thank you for your kind review.
Lovely to read that you enjoyed the Honeymoon Suite!
Great that you enjoyed our hospitality and the meals in the restaurant.
Truly hoping to welcome you to stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews