We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
242
131
69
36
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
131
69
36
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old english inns isle of wight bar area sea view superior room sea front function room lovely hotel nice room eggs benedict wedding party bath and shower great shower fish and chips hovercraft terminal town centre full english
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Our three night stay had both positives and negatives. Great location!! The rooms were lovely, clean, and with amenities to make one comfortable....no complaints. However, the public areas were disappointing. We found the food and service in the dining room and bar area to be of poor quality...plus the entire place needed a good cleaning. For travelers who require an elevator....beware....the elevator does not go to the top floor. Overall, our stay was not what we expected.

Room Tip: If you require an elevator, request the first floor. Second floor rooms require a long set of stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Sharon

Thank you for your feedback, we are really please you enjoyed the rooms, we apologise that the service did not meet your exspectations, we will be using your feedback as part of our team training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and couldn’t have received better service! Everyone from the Receptionist to the cleaners were friendly, polite and helpful.
Our room had a sea view and was quite large as was the bathroom - great shower! The room was cleaned to a high standard.
Food was very good and excellent value for money.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Carol

We are pleased that you were looked after well by the team, they take pride in what they do. we hope to see you again for another visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely family meal food was fab and really delish will be goin here again and all staff really helpful and friendly my youngest had the kids nuggets and it was proper chicken and also the chocolate pizza which she loved my self and hubby had the pork belly with the lovely sauce and my son and daughter in law had the bacon and cheese burgers which was all fab will be deffo goin again in the near future

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Jess

We are glad you enjoyed your visit, hopefully you will come back and try our new menu launching on the 18th october :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Stayed here as we were guests at my friends wedding which was being held here. The hotel is lovely, staff helpful, food good (although only one vegan option so couldn't have eaten here more than once).

We were in room 16 which was like a sauna! The windows were tiny and had a device on them to prevent you from opening them very far, so there was no breeze. The 10 tog duvet had to come out of the cover as it was too hot. Room 16 overlooked the back, i think it was above a generator/the kitchen as the heat was unbearable. Friends who were at the front of the hotel had bigger windows and seemed to be having less of an issue with the heat/noise. I would not recommend this room if it's hot.

Also the room was tiny, there was nowhere to store our two suitcases, so we were forever tripping over them.

Aside from the room problems, the room was clean and the hotel was nice, breakfast was good. If we'd stayed in a room at the front of the hotel i'm sure i would be rating this with a much higher score.

Room Tip: DON'T choose a room at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Natalie R

We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the food, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Popped in here for a quick snack, due to a mix up in the order had to wait some time and although we didn't complain was refunded our entire bill, came back for a full english breakfast and wasn't disappointed. Great service

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Annp572016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear annp572016

We are pleased you enjoyed your fodd, and that the mix up was sorted swiftly. We hop to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews