We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$153
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$153
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Agoda.com
$147
View deal
Hotels.com$153
Priceline$151
getaroom.com$158
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
468
150
23
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
468
150
23
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceiling fan isle of wight lovely hotel sea front a sea view room overlooking the solent hotel restaurant comfortable rooms town centre out of season three nights short break night break enjoyable stay feel very welcome kathy wedding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2022

I arrived late at 6:30pm but not dinner was available until 8:30pm despite the place looking empty. The room was dusty and dated and the sea view over a leaky broken side roof. I booked brekki for myself, partner and our two guests my brother and his partner. When they arrived they were called liars by members of staff not present at booking. We were sent away saying the booking never happened and no food offered again. The staff were unhelpful and cold. The manager was “not available” and the cctv “not working”
I’d never go back. Waste of £120!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank clairelS5169DN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Julian Thomas, General Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2022

We have answered the above points in a longer response directly to this guest, however we must correct the inaccurate statements made:-

Dinner was requested on check in - our restaurant was fully booked until 8.30pm. Unfortunately we can only offer what we have available as all other time slots had already been booked.

We disagree that the room you had is dusty and dated - however you are fully entitled to your opinion.

The sea view is across the conference room roof. This is neither leaky or broken it has a sheet covering a skylight to darken the conference room below to enable slides to be seen more clearly particularly during sunny weather.
It is your assumption this means the roof is leaky and broken.

You did make an arrangement for 2 guests to join you for breakfast, however you did not book a time of 10am as you assert.
a) We do not and never have booked times for breakfast
b) You were checked in by our Head Receptionist who most certainly would not agree or promise breakfast at 10am when
our last orders during the week are 9.30am.
This would make no sense whatsoever.

No member of staff called your guests liars and indeed our Deputy Restaurant Manager who spoke with them had been present when you checked in and was party to the conversation about Breakfast.

No one was 'sent away' . Your guests were advised that as this conversation was happening at 9.15am they were welcome to come into Breakfast then as we were still serving up until 9.30am
So it is incorrect to state no food was offered.

As advised to you the manager was not in the hotel but would be back within the hour.


You assert the CCTV was 'not working'. As advised, the camera in Reception does not and has never recorded, it has no recording equipment attached, it purely feeds to a back office so the Reception area can be seen by someone in that office.
It functions perfectly for this job so there is no question of it 'not working'.

The further review you have posted using a different name also accuses our staff of being rude and incompetent. We are extremely proud of our staff the majority of who have been with the hotel over 10 years. As seen in a multitude of reviews they are frequently praised highly for their skills and friendliness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2022

Stayed here four years ago with my friend. This time I came back with my son, dog and parents.
The welcome couldn’t be more warmer and the rooms have had a refresh with lovely fluffy towels. Even though dogs are allowed in the rooms they were spotless.
With dogs we weren’t allowed in the main dining area for breakfast but they set a table up for us in the lounge part complete with doggy bowl.

Well done to staff for making us feel welcome

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 June 2022

Lovely hotel, very clean and comfortable.
Bed comfortable good nights sleep had, great staff, friendly and nothing too much trouble.
location outstanding right by beachfront. only downside is the parking.

Date of stay: June 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank saraharwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 May 2022

The staff are genuinely lovely friendly and helpful the food was amazing had a great room with a sea view even the sun shone for us a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable time lovely clean rooms and facilities even got a lovely anniversary card which was very thoughtful thank you xxxx

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank bigpants2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 May 2022

This was a girls birthday trip for my mums 75th birthday. Hotel is in a perfect location just by the sea. The breakfast and dinner was good lots of choices and the staff very friendly. Will definitely come back

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cherylms2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews