We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pussy Willow

The Pussy Willow
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Takeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pussy Willow
Ranked #6 of 17 Takeley B&B and Inns
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We have stayed at the Mill House, Takely, Essex , on 6 occasions now and will continue to do so as it suits our requirement when flying out from Stansted. We can’t recommend this first class accommodation enough.
The room was immaculate and very comfortable with a large en-suite with bath and for the winter periods under floor heating. Breakfast is first class and sets you up for the long day ahead. The quality of his locally sourced food is excellent and the breakfast menu choice is outstanding. In an area that is not well provided for quality food Brian and his wife also offer a first class evening meal Thai menu. Highly recommended
Mill House also offers Wi Fi and flat screen TV allowing you to carry out and continue your business or just relax and make use of the entertainment on offer. .
Brian is very much organised and everything is arranged to the customer’s requirements and request, we can't thank him enough for that.
Finally the offer of return airport transfer if flying out from Stansted is quick, trouble free and a great help to your journey ahead.
I would recommend Mill House to anyone looking for comfort, quality and good value.
Thanks again to Brian and his wife.

Room Tip: Double rooom at the rear of the property with large en-suite (bath)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    21
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
18
45
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We arrived after a 2 hr drive from Kent and were welcomed with "Will you remove your shoes". For the rest of the time we wandered up and down the house in our stocking feet. Now while I am happy to do that at home, maybe some slippers could have been provided or not have such a light coloured carpet !
From there we were asked for the balance of our payment up front which I found strange as this was the first time I have experience this, I could understand if we were leaving early in the morning but our flight was not till 11.30.
The rooms were very clean and all mod cons were there, bed was a little soft for me but that is me I suppose. Bathroom shower screen was well and truly masticked to the bath with a large sign telling you NOT TO OPEN !!
Breakfast was good although the wooly mushrooms did nothing for us.
We were looking forward to a Thai meal but were advised before we arrived this would not be possible due to illness and we were offered an alternative which we declined, However the nearest pub is 15 mins walk and not really the most cellubrious of establishments. The next one is a further 20 mins and to be fair the landlady run us home to save our legs.
For us, we would prefer to stay in Bishops Stortford in future as I am sure there is a larger choice of evening meals.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hearthammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

My brother and I recently stayed at this B&B prior to a flight from Stansted Airport. What a great start to our holiday! Free transport to and from the airport, spotlessly clean and well-appointed rooms, a delicious home-cooked dinner with a bottle of wine, and splendid full English breakfast next morning, all with very friendly and attentive service from the delightful owners. All in all excellent value. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I have been staying in this B&B several times when using Stansted Airport and find it most useful. The rooms are well maintained, Brian the owner is very friendly and the breakfast is fabulous.
It is convenient leaving the car there (while being away for a few days) for a good price and getting free transport and pick-up from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank andi_hub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We have stayed at this B&B for overnight stays, for the last five years.To us this takes away the hassle and headache of driving from Kent to Stansted for an early or mid morning flight!
As it is only 3 miles from the airport (less than a 10 minute journey), we can leave close to checking in time.
Rooms are of good sizes with spotless en suite bathrooms, and very comfortable beds.
Breakfast is freshly cooked with a good choice of cereals and cooked breakfast.
We are very frequent travellers and find this service invaluable.
Brian takes you to and from the airport in your own vehicle and charges a very small fee for overnight parking.
Many thanks Brian, keep up the good work and see you again soon!

Room Tip: Be aware there is obviously some noise from the airport and main road, so if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takeley
0.9 km away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,267 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
1.9 km away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
3.0 km away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
6.3 km away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pussy Willow? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pussy Willow

Property: The Pussy Willow
Address: Mill House The Street | The Street, Takeley CM22 6QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Takeley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Takeley
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pussy Willow 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Pussy Willow Hotel Takeley
The Pussy Willow England/Takeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing