We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent house, perfect for our needs”

Review of Rose Bank

Rose Bank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Bank
Main entrance Hall Library - books / games / pool / table football
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
Rose Bank
Main entrance Hall
Library - books / games / pool / table football
Kitchen - Large fridge+ under-counter fridge / Large freezer. Range Cooker
Kitchen / breakfast seating for 10
Dining Room with seating for 22/24
Main Drawing Room with open fire, seating for 22 and 60' wall TV
Playroom for our younger guests
Ground Floor Bedroom with king sized bed - easy access
Bedroom 1 - King sized bed
En Suite shower and dressing room.
Bedroom 2 - Super king - splits into two singles if required. Toddlers bed
Bedroom 3 Double bed + single + traditional wooden cot
Bedroom 4 - King sized bed splits into two singles if required. + single bed.
En Suite - Huge roll topped bath original to the house
Family Bathroom - full suite plus separate double shower.
Bedroom 5 - double + two single beds
Bedroom 6 - double plus single bed
Bedroom 7 - King sized bed
Bedroom 8 -twin bedded
Bedroom 9 - single room
Bedroom 10 - king sized bed
Pool ; Leisure area - available at additional cost see details
Terrace with BBQs / seating & tables and Hot Tub area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Lugwardine, Hereford, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris P
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent house, perfect for our needs”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a great weekend at Rose bank, thanks to the owners for helping to make my 30th birthday so special. The photo's don't do the house justice, but it's a great period property with loads of space. We did a Victorian murder mystery on the Saturday night which Margaret catered and the food was great. All in all, it was excellent value and perfect for our needs, my guests and I had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenzo361
uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“University students would refuse to pay their rent”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5
people found this review helpful

I can see why large families with a number of children would like this place but unless you have one of the few well appointed rooms its no better than a Youth Hostel - in the 1960s. My room had nothing other than a bed and small table - no storage at all, othrer than a peg on the back of the door and no curtains on window.The toilet didnt work - it had had its water supply turned off as the valve was leaking. Turned back on started electric pumps running as pressure rose and dropped all night. Found another room next day which was filthy - cobwebs and old bits of rope hanging from ceiling - again the toilet and shower wouldnt be acceptable to students.
It needs an army of cleaners, a services manager and some sensible investment decisions to make it worth the money.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The swimming pool.
Liked least: The fact that toilets and showers didnt work properly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
We have just discussed this review with the person who organised the weekend.He had no complaints and we do not recognise the room described -there is one room with no curtain but it has a blind. We can only assume they were upset at not been allocated the Master Suite.
We have a high occupancy rate with many groups returning more than once. Pre booking visits are encouraged where practical.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesH81
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

After a lengthy search for a property to accommodate 16 adults and 9 children, I found Rose Bank via the Holiday Lettings website.

It was perfect for our needs. Plenty of space including a large dining room, kitchen, lounge as well as great sized sleeping accomodation. We were left a large cream cake on arrival and were made very welcome.

We were extremely lucky that the weather was lovely too so made use of the generous back lawn and terrace area. Would highly recommend for large family groups and we will definitely look to arrange a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Size
Liked least: Not enough Main plates,
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
paul C
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place, Ideal for large Parties, Well catered for”
Reviewed 9 March 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed here for two nights to celebrate New Years. In total there was 23 of us, this included children. Rose Bank was perfect for our needs. Such a large house with enough bedrooms for everyone. The children loved playing hide and seek around the house which was great as it kept them amused. Outside was vast and private so they could all play games.
There was a large drawing room with a lovely great big fire and a dining room which seated all 12 adults comfortably, with room for more if required. We took along food and wasn’t sure before hand what would be there. But the kitchen was well stocked with the basics for cooking and tea/coffee etc.
The owners had made us a lovely fresh cream cake for our arrival, which was delicious. They were great, on site if we needed them but left us to enjoy our stay with no hassle. We will definitely be coming back again, ideally during the summer to take advantage of the lovely swimming pool.
This is a great house, ideal for large parties and great value. Highly recommend Rose Bank to anybody thinking of staying there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the house
Liked least: Was a bit cold to start with before we got the fire going, due to the size of the property
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 835
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing