We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb property, beautifully finished, great hosts”

Review of Owl Barn

First floor living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First floor living area
First Floor Bedroom mezzanine bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
First floor living area
First Floor Bedroom
mezzanine bedroom
The Luxury Kitchen
The Terrace
The Dining Table seats 12
The Large Gardens
The Stunning Fireplace
Fun In The Hot Tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Leominster, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
mccluneym
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb property, beautifully finished, great hosts”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Rented for my Dad's 70th Birthday celebration. There were 12 of us at one point including 4 children between 4 & 10. Layout is superb, bedrooms & bathrooms are finished to the highest standard and the kitchen and dining area just lend themselves to having a great time!

Would recommend to anyone for a great getaway venue and worth every penny.

.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to review Owl Barn and so glad you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epask2005
Hassocks
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect In Every Way - Ideal for Family Get Togethers”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My Brother and I hired Owl Barn as a suprise venue for our Mother's 70th Birthday. We were a party of 9, inlcuding a 3 year old. There are not enough superlatives to describe it. The pictures on the site do not do it justice, it is huge, all the rooms and attached bathrooms are a great size, with lovely white duvets and towels. The kitchen is vast and fully equiped with quality china etc. We cooked large meals every night which was a pleasure, I could happily live there. The owners have left everything you could ever need from candle holders to outdoor hurricane lamps. Upstairs is a truly amazing space and perfect for family or group get togethers. It was not a prob with a 3 year old and the garden and hot tub were the icing on the cake and we even managed to eat outside for 2 nights!
The owners even left a very welcome basket of bread, wine and tea! We will definately be back. Ludlow is a very nice town close by. The owners even sent all my underwear back that I'd managed to leave in a chest or drawers! We really did have a great 4 days so thank to Becky and her husband.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Space and quality
Liked least: The small fridge space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
So glad you had such a good time and thank you for such a lovely review...glad you received the parcel!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sableux
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gob smacked, a rare jewel that delivers the dream getaway you always wished for!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Immaculate, spacious and spotless. It was like walking into Grand Design or Restoration Man. The initial wow factor all of us got from the kerb appeal and the first step in never faded and lasted from the first day till the last. The original barn beams can be seen throughout owl barn and is beautiful to behold. The barn is very well converted, complete with a fully equipped spacious kitchen with lots of work surface and underfloor heating on both ground and top floor. Seriously, this is the first holiday let I have been in with underfloor heating and a kitchen that is FULLY equipped with full sets of CLEAN glasses, crockery, utensils, beautiful pots and pans, mixing bowls, serving platters, colander, huge sieve, top grade cooker and in built oven and grill etc. The lovely hosts even went as far as to prepare a lovely basket of welcome wine, bread, and snacks, there was even a pint of milk in the fridge and fresh flowers in the vase on the spacious long dining table. There are plenty of seating on the ground and first floor, and functioning TVs on both. Oh and before I forget, fully functioning dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. The bedrooms have clean linens and each one has a unique tartan throw at the end. There are lots of storage in all the bedrooms and fresh face and bath towels are provided as well. There are even soap bars and shampoo and lotion in the 2 bathrooms and 1 shower like a hotel would. I have to point out that there are also shaver sockets near each sink which many holiday letters would not bother with. Besides that, on the ground floor there is a cupboard with toys for kids and some for adults like badminton. On the first floor there is a huge wooden trunk of boardgames for everyone in the family. There are loads of novels, cook books, dvds, maps and brochures of things to do and restaurants for food so there is always something to do. And the hot tub! Clean and easy to operate so you can chill in it while your friends play on the lovely manicured lawn. Plenty of parking and most importantly friendly owner who pops over first and last day and always available for a nice chat.

The only criticisms are a lack of bin & recycling bags and cleaning cloths. The trash and recycling bags were insufficient as we used one each day and there was only one trash bag in the bin and a spare one in the cupboard. We wanted to keep the place clean but there were only two tea towels which we also needed for drying, so we ended up getting some disposable cloths in Morrisons. However these are all quibbles and insignificant in the grand scheme of things.. Ultimately we fell in love with the place and would definitely return and recommend it to our own friends and family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet idyllic surroundings, hot tub and splendid kitchen
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Oh wow thanks for such a great review ...and in so much detail!! Bin bags and T towels really easy to address ( you should have asked us for more) anyway so glad you loved it!! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauds1979
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb accommodaion, ideal for a large family/group of friends!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The accommodation at Owl Barn was second-to-none! We went as a large group of friends and everything was perfect. The rooms were great and the living space was absolutely fantastic... lovely big kitchen/diner/lounge, separate mezzanine lounge area and lovely grounds (including jacuzzi!). We stayed a week and there was no danger of us getting bored - there's plenty to do in the local area but no real need to leave the house! The owners called in early during the stay to make sure we had settled in and couldn't have been more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was ideal for the size/make-up of our party.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was well equipped and spacious
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 315
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing