We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really helpful hotel staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Burton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Burton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kington
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really helpful hotel staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

My wife and I spent one night there. Our room in the older part of the hotel was clean and comfortable. The pool & spa was a great place to relax after a day's walking in the Marches. Most of all, the hotel staff (especially John) were exceptionally helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoKidsWithUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    61
    31
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
76
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

12 of us went to the burton hotel on my stag weekend and golfing trip , we loved it so much we all want to go again,it was so clean and tidy the staff were all happy ,helpfull and friendly and the food was exellent we couldnt of picked a better hotel to stay at, i would recomend the burton hotel to anyone , its a must, thank you all for a great weekend

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevemould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

My partner and I were very impressed with the photo's available on The Burton Hotel's website and didn't hesitate to book a room. On approaching the hotel our initital thoughts were 'oh no'! After going through a side entrance which was signed as 'hotel reception' our first glimpse of the hotel was walking past and smelling the gents loo's. There wasn't anyone at reception to greet us, she was busy working serving the locals behind the bar. We were given a key card and room number 6 and off we had to go with no directions. After finding our room we were hit by the smell of it as we opened the door..fousty and muggy. We opened up the window and went off to find the spa and pool...signage was sparse and very confusing. We were literally roaming around the hotel, no sign of life from anywhere other than the locals in the bar!
We were impressed with the gym facilities and the manager was very friendly and helpful. A complete contrast to the staff..i say staff but we only encountered 2 different staff who appeared to work in the hotel!
Eventually we asked for a different room and was given room 3, more spacious, no smell, but directly above the bar! The only plus is that the room was clean. The decor was awful.
Food at the hotel was basic, a real basic bar menu..and the cooking didnt do it any justice at all. My well done steak was brought to the table after just 10 mins of ordering and it was bleeding on my plate! Not sure if the receptionist / barmaid / general all rounder, was bemused by my asking for it to be 'cooked' or wether it was the language barrier.. Breakfast was a little strange, we sat at a table for around 10 mins before a miserable young waitress came through a door, spotted us and asked what we wanted to drink! We werent advised on what was on offer, but could see for ourself at the bowls of 'stuff' on a different table. The cooked breakfast was minimal and nothing to write home about.
The Spa and pool facilities were fab, the hotel... it was the pitts. For 95pound, the travellodge is a cheaper, more modern option!

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank laurasion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

I find The Burton hotel somewhat confusing. Obviously some serious money has been spent on the spa, which is beautiful - but clearly nothing spent on dragging the hotel back from the 70's into the modern world.
We spent the night in the bridal suite, which considering the price we paid for the priviledge (£125), was considerably over priced for a cheap pine four poster bed screwed to the floor, with some very dated orange curtains/pelmets, bland decor, a tasteless painting on the wall and a bland, dated bathroom. I would have expected a little bit of a 'wow' factor for the bridal suite - but sadly dull and boring. Good job we were exhausted and literally hit the pillow as soon as we hit the room.....
Lunch that day, wasn't bad - with an impressive sticky toffee pudding and a fantastic waitress - however I cannot be so complimentary about breakfast.
There wasn't even a table for us to start - which considering we were booked in, you would have thought they should know how many guests to expect for breakfast. When our fry-up arrived it didn't exactly look exciting, a bit dull and not particularly generous in size, however everything was cooked very well and everything was incredibly tastey and the meat seemed fresh and local, the bacon was particularly good!! The waitress however was sluvenly, rude and clearly had no passion for her job. She was dull, uninterested and unhelpful. I agree with previous comments - although we came down for a late breakfast (9.30am - breakfast finishes @ 10am) there was only a jug of milk available and no juice, just empty jugs. A bowl of muesli, a bowl of grapefruit segments and a bowl of prunes to choose from- not exactly spoilt for choice. Both myself and my husband work in the hospitality sector and so would have expected these things to be topped up when empty regardless - especially as they open for breakfast to non-residents, and it's not cheap.
It's a shame - Kington is a great place, with not many options to choose from in terms of staying in the town. I am hoping that the hotel is scheduling a refurb, as it is in desperate need of one. There just seemed to be very little consistancy in any of it!! There's plenty more that I can say, but not sure I have the time or inclination. A real shame.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redbully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Stayed 2 nights in room 11, very overpriced at £110 for saturday night..
The room was very clean and staff were friendly and bar menu good value. The room was very basic for that pricing level- small antiquated 14" tv, no water, tissues, shampoo or spare pillows to replace the concrete ones provided on the bed.. Breakfast O K but poor choice of cereal, no yoghurts or fresh fruit and only One juice.
The friendly staff and excellent cleanliness would have made it a good hotel at, a more sensible price

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnny061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kington
10.0 km away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
27.5 km away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
23.9 km away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
39.6 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
24.1 km away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burton Hotel

Property: The Burton Hotel
Address: Mill Street, Kington HR5 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kington
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,122 - ₹ 11,438
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Burton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burton Hotel Kington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing