We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“.... Nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Watermill Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“.... Nice staff”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Was overall good stay, just stayed the night, don't have any names but staff were all nice

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilanmacroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Many thanks for the positive comments based on your experience here at The Watermill Hotel. I would like to thank for the praise towards our staff, rest assured I will pass your comments onto our team.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    107
    108
    51
    65
See reviews for
71
84
19
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Bed was badly infested. Looked at underside of mattress and saw obvious blood stains from previous guests. The first time we have ever encountered a bedbug infestation at a Best Western hotel. Ruined our trip and ran up quite a dry cleaning bill on our return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bitten2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, General Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Bitten2011,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Watermill hotel.

I would like to apologise for the issues raised during your visit in December. The hotel would like to reassure you that, just like any other Best Western hotel we try our up most to keep our housekeeping standards to the very best.

Your satisfaction is important to us and since your comments we have revised our housekeeping practices to ensure we offer a better experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us in the future so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hemel Hempstead hotels

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I was looking for a convenient hotel for the Tring/Hemel Hempstead area on a budget.

Location is good & quiet, about 15 minutes outside of HH and easy access on to M1 & M25. Plenty of free parking.

The room was warm, comfy and did everything I needed it to. Don't need contempory fixtures & fittings to get a good night sleep and hot shower.

All the staff were very friendly in all the departments, happy to chat and pleasant to talk to.

Didn't eat in the evening, but breakfast was good.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T7PDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your review, It gives me great pleasure to hear positive comments about our team.

Your feedback is important to us, and we use all comments to help us continually improve,

I hope that you will have the chance of staying at the hotel again in the future.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, UK
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Dreadful start to a 2 night stay. The postcode, on my booking confirmation, was wrong. I called the hotel and they could not give me directions but gave me an alternative postcode. I arrived after a further 10 minute drive. There were 2 fairly small carparks, which were full. So I had to park in the overflow carpark in a very muddy field (so muddy that my car wheels span and threw mud all over the car). The walk to the hotel with no lighting, with my case and on a slippery slope was an accident waiting to happen. UNACCEPTABLE - sorry!
The bedroom was pleasant but very cold (not a problem for me, but would be for some). However, it was in a separate block to the reception areas. I was 3 rooms in from the entrance which was open to anyone to walk in. I didn't really feel that safe. There was a lot of noise from the road and the bedroom walls seemed paper thin (I was a little worried when neighbours arrived and I could hear everything, but this turned out not to be a problem, fortunately).
Breakfast on Monday morning was mediocre (small choice of food, had to order cooked but there was no one around to take the order). Breakfast was good on Tuesday, more choice and a cooked buffet...rather odd.
Needless to say, I would not return and am unlikely to book another Best Western!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UckfieldSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I booked into here with work as a hotel of last resort. My previous experiences with best western hotels have been far from favourable! However I found the room of more than acceptable quality. But what really made the stay was the friendliness of the hotel staff. The only reason I have not given this a 5 star rating was the Wi-Fi seemed to grind to a halt as soon as it got past 6pm and the demand from all the guests seemed to overwhelm it.. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. It gives me great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the room and felt the staff were friendly.

With regards to the Wi-Fi access I am sorry to hear that you had difficulties with the strength of our internet signal. As part of our recent improvements we have introduced a better Wi-Fi system and I hope that the next time you visit us you will have a better experience with the Wi-Fi.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank You,

Best Western The Watermill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.8 km away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
404 reviews
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
735 reviews
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
633 reviews
3.5 km away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
170 reviews
4.1 km away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Property: The Watermill Hotel
Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,892 - ₹ 7,960
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead
The Watermill Hotel Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing