We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location: Good, Service: Bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Brewers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Two Brewers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Location: Good, Service: Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Waitress took our food order then basically forgot about us. We had to get our own cutlery, ask them to clear our table and beg for the bil. Shame the staff are so rubbish as food is great value and excellent quality and the location, opposite a viallage green/cricket pitch would be trmendous in the summer. Shame I won't be there as the staff put me off.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Joe, thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal. Your feedback regarding the restaurant service has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    112
    61
    45
    47
See reviews for
123
105
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Arrived after the Saturday lunch time rush for a late lunch and had to ask for cutlery, ask for napkins, ask for someone to clear our plates and ask for the bill. Our food was lovely but the staff were not interested in setting/clearing the table or serving us.

They did not seem very busy and when I said that I was disappointed by the poor service the lady said "She was sorry but she was busy with a bigger table".
Great location but overpriced for such terrible service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadiadew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Nadia, thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the food was cooked well. Your feedback regarding the service has been duly noted and will be passed onto the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipperfield hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

On arriving 5 minutes early we were greeted with an unfriendly "you're early". Freezing cold inside, treated as if we were a nuisance because we had children (very well behaved ones). We were told Off for taking a chair from another table when they'd failed on the amount of places we'd booked. We then had a dispute over the specials menu. To be fair the rudeness was mainly one member of staff but she was a female Basil Fawlty in the making. The systems were down but the young staff seemed to cope.
We won't return, the food was okay but the service was some of the worst we've ever experienced.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Lynne, thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the disappointment caused in the restaurant. Your feedback regarding the service has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Came back here after a year and despite the odd dodgy review (do on or two of these people have an axe to grind, I wonder?) I'm pleased to say this place remains a fab hotel. Looks like it's had a bit of work done since my last visit to freshen it up a bit and looks great.

Definately a RECOMMEND

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhound96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

When we ordered the small breakfast of about 3£ (scrambled eggs), we decided to ask for toast on the side. This was brought to us and all was fine until we checked out and saw that we had been charged an additional 4,65£ for the toast. We were appalled! It seems that if you order any additional food with a set breakfast, they automatically charge you for a full English breakfast that is in the 7£ range. Well, it's one thing to charge you additionally, but you should at least be told that this is what it's going to cost you before the food is brought to you.
Other than that, the rooms were clean and the staff was courteous and helpful. One of the rooms we stayed in (we were there for 2 different stays in a period of 2 weeks) had a shower with a limited flow of water and a hair dryer that did not work very well. Also, beware of the higher soap dish in the shower: it is a ceramic tile insert that sticks out and I cracked my elbow on it a few times before I had to make it a point to avoid it.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel in order not to be disturbed by the street noise, if you like yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolande L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipperfield
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
4.5 km away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
4.4 km away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
7.0 km away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
9.7 km away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Brewers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brewers Hotel

Property: Two Brewers Hotel
Address: The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chipperfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,095 - ₹ 7,098
Hotel Class:3 star — Two Brewers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Two Brewers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Brewers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing