We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quiet little gem !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bothy

The front entrance to The Bothy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front entrance to The Bothy
The rear communal gardens at The Bothy The lounge/diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The front entrance to The Bothy
The rear communal gardens at The Bothy
The lounge/diner
The bedroom at The Bothy
The bedroom at The Bothy
The kitchen at the bothy with breakfast bar area
The hall way at The Bothy
Boltons Bench in Lyndhurst (2 minutes walk from your front door)
Boltons Bench Lyndhurst, open forest at it's best !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lyndhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MrsMc3004...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quiet little gem !”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Bothy was perfect for our stay in the New Forest last week.
A quiet little gem of a place just off Lyndhurst High Street.
Walking distance from everything you need on the High Street plus out into the forest amongst the gorgeous cattle & ponies !
The owners are more than helpful, should you need to contact them during your stay (or if you leave any belongings behind !) and have thought of everything in their lovely accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyntonLyn...
Lynton
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous.”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Had a fantastic week at The Bothy in Lyndhurst which is fully equipped and an ideal base for visiting the forest and surrounding area,it is close to the high street of Lyndhurst with its many shops and a few pubs (all within walking distance)but remains secluded and peaceful with Roe deer grazing on the lawns at certain times.When we arrived we found that the owners had left bread ,coffee,tea,sugar,butter and delicious home made marmalade and being Easter a large Easter egg which was a great way to start our week.If you have a disabled partner (which my wife is) this place is ideal as you can park right outside of the door and it is an almost level walk into the village so very wheelchair friendly. If you are thinking of booking stop thinking and BOOK!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful setting.
Liked least: No tea cosy for the teapot.(Well I had to find something).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepfatca...
luton, bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous 5* home from home”
Reviewed 13 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

What a welcome, central heating, wine, pantry essentials, Xmas card and tree! Clean and looks just like the pictures! Perfect location as close to shops and easy access to nearby villages, towns and city but quiet with wandering deer included. Stay again - absolutely. Friendly village - we had chats and brief laughs in apothecary and pages of lyndhurst with free wine tasting. This is an excellent example of a holiday which could compete with similar abroad in terms of a value British holiday offering excellent standard of accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and decor, felt homely
Liked least: Nothing to comment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciucchina
Cuneo, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent peaceful cottage”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We loved our stay at The Bothy. First of all the owner made us confortable since the beginning and really cared after us. Even if the house is in very close to the center of Lyndhurst, it's very quiet and visited for different forest animals like foxes and squirrels. The house is very warm and welcoming, we loved it all and we would surely repeat our experience there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness of the place, fields and trees
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Con mi pareja
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elliekwak
Tiel, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Dear Elliekwak,
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we do hope that you will return to the New Forest & the Bothy very soon, so that we may be of service to you once again.
Many , many thanks,
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing