We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal touches make all the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Personal touches make all the difference”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

From the moment we opened the door to our room at Ormonde House we knew we were in for a very comfortable stay. The bathroom was huge and the quality of fixtures, fittings and furnishings was very high. Bed was so comfy and made up with sheets, blankets, bedspread and furry throw which was fab as it gave us a few different options depending on how warm/cold we were feeling. Magazines and complimentary toiletries were a nice touch too. Breakfast is a very well-run operation - good service and cooked to perfection with high-quality ingredients and a nice selection of fruit and cereals. You can order the full English or cherry pick from eggs, bacon, sausages etc which means you can always have exactly what you fancy. The scrambled eggs and sausages were top-notch. Tiny gripes (and they really were tiny) were the toilet roll holder, which kept falling off the wall (it only needed a quiz whizz of the electric drill) and the temperature of the bathroom, which was rather sauna-like at times (but this just added to its spa-like ambience!) Also the car park gets busy at times so we had to park in the road, but I spotted a planning application for this to be extended, so hopefully this won't be a problem for much longer.

Location was ideal; we walked into Lyndhurst for dinner at Passage to India (best curry we've ever eaten, but make sure you book). Also make sure you hop over the road and spend an hour amongst the wild New Forest ponies, it's guaranteed to de-stress you.

We can't recommend this hotel highly enough, and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 and couldn't fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormonde9, Owner at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in one of four totally refurbished rooms the last to come on line for Easter.They all will enjoy a walk in shower with modern furbishments.These rooms are classified as standard.

As for the towel rail its will replaced asap. and the toilet roll holder is now firmly fixed to the wall

Incidently the huge bed was a 5ft Queen bed.We also have 6ft wide zip and link beds in all our superior rooms and Pinewood suites.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    151
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
310
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Croydon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I don't normally do trip advisor reviews, so this will tell you how good it was! Hubbie and I stayed for a weekend with our 16 mth old son, well Paul and team were so very welcoming (always a blessing when you have a toddler!), the personal touch makes all the difference..chocs on arrival in the room, good size room for cot, the breakfast was tops... fruits, top quality cereal cooked breakfast (yummy sausages) and pastries , dinner was worth staying in for aswell ! The high chair was always there at meal times (with baby napkin finishing touch!) . Very comfortable, look fwd to going again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackiesTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormonde9, Owner at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Glad you had a " fab " time .
Ormonde has accommodation suitable for families and of course we have " Pepper Pig " just 15 mind drive away.

ps. we always keep in stock a large quantity of coc pops , best washed down with hot chocolate with a side order of nutella on a pain au chocolat. Yum

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We had a groundfloor superior double which was great - a sofa and tv at the opposite end to the bed and a spacious bathroom. Breakfasts were lovely with a big selection, fast friendly service and well cooked. We didn't eat here in the evening as the limited menu and requirement to order in advance didn't suit us, but with Lyndhurst so close and the excellent La Pergola just a few hundred yards away that was not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I booked a superior room for an overnight stay on a special offer with Booking.Com as a birthday and wedding anniversary treat. The staff were very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and catered for our every need, the kingsize bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was large and luxurious and came with a whirlpool bath. We had a superb breakfast in the conservatory, the wide choice of fayre made sure there was something to suit everyone. On the downside, the bathroom fans were quite noisy which was a little disturbing in the early hours of the morning and there was some road noise but not until about 5am . All in all, we believe this hotel was great value for money and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsB_C_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

it was a great place to stay...relaxing, friendly...nothing was to much trouble....super room.....the breakfast beat any others we have had...superb choice....thankyou to all the staff at ormonde house...Mr and Mrs smith.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stamandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.8 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.8 km away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
6.2 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.7 km away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
5.0 km away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,221 - ₹ 9,656
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing