We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“RUFUS HOUSE Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rufus House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rufus House
Ranked #4 of 24 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“RUFUS HOUSE Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

A very warm and friendly welcome in a lovely house, The bedroom was charming and complete with all we required and was scrupulously clean as was the ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was great and all this comfort on the edge of the New Forest. We would highly recommend Rufus House. Thankyou Ernesto and your staff for a very enjoyable visit. We shall be returning.

Jean and Rod

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    77
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
249
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Witney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

A very warm feeling to the house reflected by the welcome, the exellent service,the breakfast was very good and all needs catered for. It is perfectly located for walks in the forest or a stroll from the restuarants and pubs in Lyndhurst. We will call again , thank you to Ernesto and Etsuko.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Recently I returned to my favourite B&B, the Rufus House in Lyndhurst. Since my last stay there have been a few changes including new flat screen TV sets in all the rooms. We did have a slight problem with our set but, just one word to Ernesto and the set was changed.

The breakfast has also improved with new incredients from local suppliers. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I have stayed in most of them, my least favourite room was no.10 which is on the very top floor, my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goytre_tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Ernesto & Etsuko thank you for a brilliant stay, warm, welcoming superb breakfast, spotless clean comfortable accommodation.... I could go in and on.
Excellent location and beauty spot. Looking forward to another stay later in the year.
Ps Thank you to your staff who served breakfast. Very pleasant and polite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at The Rufus House Hotel from Good Friday until Sunday 8th April. Upon arriving at the hotel, from Brokenhurst Station, our cab drove us onto the gravelly front garden area of the hotel and we were greeted by the very charming location that was the Rufus House. Situated just off the main road that runs through the village of Lyndhust, The Rufus house is ideally placed, offering easy access to all the shops, restaurants and walking/cycling routes into the heart of the Forest.

We arrived a few hours before check-in time, but were greeted by one of the owners, Etsuko who was warm and instantly inviting. Although we had turned up ahead of schedule, perhaps catching her unaware, she welcomed us in to the hotel offering us a chance to leave our bags in our rooms, but not forgetting to give us the informative briefing you would expect to receive.
We all found her to be exceeding friendly and immediately engaging.

Our room was on the top floor at the back of the hotel, with a view of the garden below, although we apparently had the smallest double room but, what it lacked in size it made up for in charm and comfortability. The En-Suite was cute a perfect match for the room. The whole accommodation was top notch.

We had a Full English the following morning, with also the option of a continental breakfast, fruit, cereal, etc...the breakfast, in keeping with the Rufus House experience, was just what we wanted. Faultless!
The staff all seemed smiley, pleasant and happy in their work. Entirely genuine and very accommodating!

All in all our Rufus House experience was an absolutely delight, the décor, location, rooms, food, but most importantly then warmth and dedication of Etsuko and her staff made it all memorable and one which both my partner and cannot wait to enjoy again.....hopefully in June!

Any sort of stay at the Rufus House wont be regretted, and I would recommend this lovely place, with it's home from home quality and peaceful atmosphere, to any who ever wishes to visit Lyndhurst. You will not be disappointed.



Aisha & Peter

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
1.4 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.7 km away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
6.7 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
1.4 km away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.3 km away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufus House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufus House

Property: Rufus House
Address: Rufus House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,812 - ₹ 8,021
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufus House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With acres of exceptional woodland and open heaths as our front garden, Rufus House is the perfect location to explore the New Forest and surrounding areas of natural beauty all year around. Enjoy a relaxing break in peaceful surroundings overlooking views of the forest, ponies, cattle, donkeys. A grand Victorian house ideally located in the cent re of the New Forest. Many good restaurants and pubs are all walking distance from Rufus House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rufus House Hotel Lyndhurst
Rufus House Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing