We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveller rating
352
361
148
76
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
352
361
148
76
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool glasshouse restaurant cellar bar red letter glass house bunk beds family room peppa pig world lovely hotel booked this hotel breakfast and dinner paultons park waterloo arms duty manager four poster both nights short stroll
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 958 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Popped in here to get directions to another hotel... Very helpful receptionist. Reception area looked clean and modern. There were some children staying at the hotel, and the receptionist didnt mind them in the reception area. Its very well located in the center of the new forest, Lynhurst. Walking distance from the town center where there are local pubs and restaurants. Carparking.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear Lesley E,

Thank you for taking the time to review your short visit with us here at Forest Lodge Hotel. I am happy that the Reception team were so accommodating and able to help you.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

This is a functional enough hotel. Location just off a busy road but v near a lovely field, 10 mins walk from Lyndhurst and close enough to the forest by bikes.

The reception staff were welcoming and keen to help, the room was fine, well appointed and clean enough. Nothing out of the ordinary apart from robes which was nice. Shower was fabulous.

The pool was lovely - quiet and cool but the shower alongside just looked so grubby. The 'garden' area close to the pool was tatty with fag buts and aged confetti and poorly maintained. I was very surprised not to see an obvious emergency alarm in the warmish sauna.

Food was ok - bit hit and miss and the waiting staff so sweet but either so new they had no clue or over stretched.

Overall it was an acceptable experience - just watch them on checkout. Though I was on a D, B&B rate they tried to charge me 30% over on my bill for extras and nearly got away with it, they did apologise.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzannemborrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear suzannemborrell,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us, I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and by providing us with such detailed feedback we can look to improve on our level of service. You did mention about the issue with the bill on check out and this has been raised with the team and extra training completed so that this doesn't happen again.
Hopefully we can welcome you back to Forest Lodge and you can see that these changes have been made.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Had a great time staying at The Forest Lodge hotel, the staff were exceptional & nothing was too much. Extremely friendly & accomodating. Had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was wonderful, may be rated a 3 star but top end as could almost be a 4 star. Only thing that let it down was that our room could have been cleaner, as the dust on the worktops etc was so thick you could write your name in it ... but as we were only staying for a couple of nights we just dusted it off ourselves rather than bothering the hotel staff. Brilliant location for Beaulieu Motor Museum & access to lyndhurst high street

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear Gemma C,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Forest Lodge Hotel and my apologies that the room was not dusted as it should have been upon your arrival. This has all been passed onto the Housekeeping team and further training has been provided to all staff. I am so pleased that that staff were exceptional and your lovely comments have been passed onto the team.
We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

What a terrible hotel. Very different than the image they’re trying to project on their website. Furnishing is tired and outdated. Hallways feel like those in college dormitories. Staff (all but the bartender) start every answer with a “no”. Staff has no good knowledge of the surrounding area, no good tips on restaurants nearby. Chef too busy to prepare pancakes for our children during breakfast, despite it being on their menu. No hot food during lunchtime, which is difficult if you have little ones to feed. Cheddar sandwiches and crisps it is, then. And the thing is, this “pleasure” didn’t come cheap!
When you go to New Forest, go to The White Buck, go to the Manor at Sway, or if budget allows, go to The Pig or to Lime House. But do yourself a favour, don’t go to The Forset Lodge, unless your holiday expectations are as sad and mediocre at this hotel is.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank netushka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear netushka1,

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the issues that you encountered during your stay with us. We aim to provide a high quality level of service to all of our guests and I am extremely disappointed that you feel on your visit that this was not met. Staff training is an on going priority and from the feedback that you have given there are points that we can work on with the staff to ensure that we make improvements to the guest journey.
Thank you for taking the time to review and hopefully you do choose to return to us so we can show this was a one off occurrence and not the usual level of service that we provide.

Many Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Booked a cosy comfort room early this year, a week before checking in we upgraded to a four poster room for £60.00 a night more ( we booked three nights) because of the extreme hot weather. On arrival we were given our room key and after taking our heavy case up stairs and along a long corridor we realised we were given the smallest room I've ever seen, plus it was baking hot. On going back down the stairs again with heavy case to enquire why we were not in the four poster room that we had booked on the Sunday before with a lad called SAM, we were told that was the only room they had for us. On asking what had happen'd to our booking, they went on to explain that SAM had done every thing but press the process button to update the system when we rang. So they were very sorry but we had to stop in that room for two of the three nights we were with them.

A lovey and very professional receptionist called Michelle had a long chat to us and explained that the management had agreed to give us £100.00 credit and upgrade us for free on the 3rd night. Whilst that was a lovey gesture, we really hated the small and dated room we had to spend two nights in. We ended up with three fans in the room just to get through the night ( i know the weather was extremely hot ) but that was one of the main reasons we upgraded. Michelle, you were a star to us all weekend, and for that reason we will return to stay with you again. We thank you.

Sam you need to concentrate what what you are doing, you spoilt what was to be a lovely weekend break with friends.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank reetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear reetb,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I would like to offer my sincerest apologies that your stay did not go as planned. After check out this was investigated further and steps have been put in place to ensure that this doesn't happen again. While I understand that this doesn't change your stay with us I am glad that Michelle could offer some light at the end of the tunnel and that she looked after you so well all weekend. All of your lovely comments have been passed onto her and she has received the recognition she deserves for this.
When you choose to stay with us again please feel free to contact the hotel directly and Michelle or one of her team will be happy to assist you and double check the booking.
Again thank you for taking the time to feedback to us.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews