We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (944)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveller rating
349
354
146
75
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
354
146
75
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolglasshouse restaurantcellar barred letterbunk bedsglass housefamily roompeppa pig worldlovely hotelbooked this hotelbreakfast and dinnertravel cotpaultons parkwaterloo armsfour posterduty managerboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 944 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

The room was lovely but it went downhill from there they ran out of beer, No staff, they had three staff trying to cope with a full dining room and they did a sterling job, bit better on New Years Eve. The afternoon tea was a joke, a water heater and tea bags and a tray of little slab cakes but no choice.. No atmosphere, limited decorations, one christmas tree. The menu was limited it was hard to find something to eat
worst new year experience ever

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank patanddavesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Lovely hotel with fine bedrooms and lounge area. Welcoming staff in all areas of the hotel. Lovely breakfast with a wide chose of food to enjoy. The attentive waitresses will make you feel at home. Plenty of free parking directly outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Remember your swimming gear as the hotel offers a lovely indoor swimming pool.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank babyseaotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We enjoyed our short stay very much and I'd say the value for money here was outstanding: friendly, attentive staff across the board; a very comfortable, well-equipped room; a delicious range of options in the restaurant (breakfast and dinner); and a rather fabulous indoor pool. The location is ideal - a short stroll from Lyndhurst town centre. The only thing I would change next time (and we will be back) is to book when the hotel's less busy. It was too crowded for us the first day, and - in sharp contrast - wonderfully peaceful thereafter once the New Year party animals had moved on!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank M0therOfTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

The staff could not be faulted but unfortunately there was no Christmas atmosphere. Apart from a Christmas tree, nothing. The dining room tables didn’t have table cloths even for Christmas lunch. Although it said in the confirmation booking there was entertainment on Boxing Day there wasn’t and a member of the staff said there never is. Also on Boxing Day all the tea and coffee facilities were taken away and as far as it went Christmas was over. We booked 3 day full board but it wasn’t really. We had breakfast and evening meal Boxing Day and tea and cakes for the afternoon but the cake was ginger slab cake and two similar but not individual fancy cakes as one would expect. As for cleanliness it could have been better. The curtains were very dusty and don’t appear to have ever been vacuumed. I know the hotel caters for dogs but it could be vacuumed In the common areas better and more regular. We visited a sister hotel in the area and their dining room had table cloths and Christmas decoration on the tables but alas that also hadn’t been vacuumed. It should be noted that dog owners also like standards to be met.

Room Tip: If you have an older dog be sure to book a ground floor room because there are a lot of stairs
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SheilaN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a family wedding, room was cosy and comfortable. Staff were lovely , ordered us taxis and gave directions. We had a wonderful breakfast , full English . Location is spot on , very quaint and near lovely walks . Would definitely stay again .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews