We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family gathering”
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Our family gathering comprising 15 people + dog was really well-catered for by this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble, service was unfailingly polite and friendly and the location is perfect for easy daily outings - even our collection of teenagers were happily amused in the forest and the swimming pool, and the walk into Lyndhurst is very easy. The restaurant coped well with our large party and the cellar bar provided the perfect location for us all to gather and socialize without feeling that we were disturbing other guests. The standard rooms are small but very clean and we were impressed by how dog-friendly the hotel was. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank denib17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2018

The room was lovely but it went downhill from there they ran out of beer, No staff, they had three staff trying to cope with a full dining room and they did a sterling job, bit better on New Years Eve. The afternoon tea was a joke, a water heater and tea bags and a tray of little slab cakes but no choice.. No atmosphere, limited decorations, one christmas tree. The menu was limited it was hard to find something to eat
worst new year experience ever

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank patanddavesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Lovely hotel with fine bedrooms and lounge area. Welcoming staff in all areas of the hotel. Lovely breakfast with a wide chose of food to enjoy. The attentive waitresses will make you feel at home. Plenty of free parking directly outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Remember your swimming gear as the hotel offers a lovely indoor swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank babyseaotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We enjoyed our short stay very much and I'd say the value for money here was outstanding: friendly, attentive staff across the board; a very comfortable, well-equipped room; a delicious range of options in the restaurant (breakfast and dinner); and a rather fabulous indoor pool. The location is ideal - a short stroll from Lyndhurst town centre. The only thing I would change next time (and we will be back) is to book when the hotel's less busy. It was too crowded for us the first day, and - in sharp contrast - wonderfully peaceful thereafter once the New Year party animals had moved on!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank M0therOfTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

The staff could not be faulted but unfortunately there was no Christmas atmosphere. Apart from a Christmas tree, nothing. The dining room tables didn’t have table cloths even for Christmas lunch. Although it said in the confirmation booking there was entertainment on Boxing Day there wasn’t and a member of the staff said there never is. Also on Boxing Day all the tea and coffee facilities were taken away and as far as it went Christmas was over. We booked 3 day full board but it wasn’t really. We had breakfast and evening meal Boxing Day and tea and cakes for the afternoon but the cake was ginger slab cake and two similar but not individual fancy cakes as one would expect. As for cleanliness it could have been better. The curtains were very dusty and don’t appear to have ever been vacuumed. I know the hotel caters for dogs but it could be vacuumed In the common areas better and more regular. We visited a sister hotel in the area and their dining room had table cloths and Christmas decoration on the tables but alas that also hadn’t been vacuumed. It should be noted that dog owners also like standards to be met.

Room Tip: If you have an older dog be sure to book a ground floor room because there are a lot of stairs
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SheilaN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.4 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.8 km away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
851 reviews
4.5 km away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 km away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
444 reviews
10.7 km away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
744 reviews
3.4 km away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: ₹ 9,190 - ₹ 16,324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing