We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
946 results
Traveller rating
349
356
146
75
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
356
146
75
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolglasshouse restaurantcellar barred letterbunk bedsglass housefamily roompeppa pig worldlovely hotelbooked this hotelbreakfast and dinnertravel cotpaultons parkwaterloo armsfour posterduty managerboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 946 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Finding a dog friendly, family hotel that's also modern, comfortable and beautifully appointed is quite a challenge. But we found it here. When I say dog friendly I don't mean they tolerate dogs, they positively welcome them with treats and paw towels in the foyer, lovely, welcoming staff who are friendly and helpful, and a bar where dogs are welcome to snooze by the fire while the kids catch up on their phones and you can have a peaceful glass of wine. Our labradoodle doesn't moult or have that wet dog smell and I wondered if I might find the hotel had a kennel vibe but not the case. It's beautifully clean and doesn't smell dog like at all! The rooms are big with pleasing decor, there is a good sized indoor pool and a lovely, though quite pricey restaurant. It's November and the autumnal colours are out. It is a little bit of heaven.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shaza66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina M, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Shaza66,

We certainly love our dog visitors! Thank you for your lovely review and I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope you will be back soon and bring your lovely labradoodle with you.
Many thanks,
Lina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Disappointed that location wasn't INSIDE the forest (within cattle grids). Reception staff not at all welcoming and didn't try to engage with our lively 3 yr old twins (although later on they were nicer). Lovely pool, great size room with lovely bunk beds for our children. Baby listening service was useful. Unfortunately breakfast took over 20mins to arrive and the portions were laughably tiny, especially when paying £350+ for a 2 night stay. At dinner we also felt the portions were stingy (one tablespoon of mashed potato). Liked water in rooms and powerful shower. We ate breakfast elsewhere on the second morning.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank poshblondebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina M, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear poshblondebird,

thank you for your review and feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had some inconvenience during your stay with us and I will certainly look into the comments you have mentioned. We still hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Such a friendly hotel in an ideal location for the new forest. Staff couldn't be more helpful, room very good facilities and spacious. Food excellent quality and choice with relaxed atmosphere, will certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pat3832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina M, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear pat3832,

what a great review! Thank you very much for the kind words and we look forward to welcome you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights earlier this week. The hotel is lovely and the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was of a high standard and very comfortable. The food in the dining room was delicious with some different options not usually found in other hotels. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of different foods. I have not given 5 stars for 2 reasons. Firstly the service suffered on one night when there was a wedding function. Secondly although the food in the dining room was delicious it is set menu, the same every day. I feel there should be some daily specials on offer. Having said that we had a wonderful time and would definitely stay at this hotel again .

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RogerBurnhamonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina M, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear RogerBurnhamonSea,
thank you very much for your time to leave a this nice review about the Forest Lodge Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the majority of your stay with us and have certainly taken your feedback under consideration regarding the menu choice and service on wedding evenings. I look forward to welcome you back again very soon!
Many thanks,
Lina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

The Forest Lodge was exactly what we wanted. We'd checked the previous week, saw that the weather would be good and wanted a deal for 2 nights in a comfortable well located hotel.

Booking directly on the hotel's site not only did we get a good price but the offer included a voucher per person towards the evening meal in the hotel restaurant.

The hotel is only 5 minutes stroll from the High Street/New Forest Museum which means that you can do some of the walks (like the 8 mile Lyndhurst circular walk) with minimal effort.

We found all staff to be friendly and helpful, the breakfasts and evening meals excellent in The Glasshouse Restaurant and the facilities somewhere between 'traditional' and 'boutique'. There is ample parking and you are only 15/20 minutes drive from most of the New Forest places of interest.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thought it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews