We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We were driving around the new forest and surrounding areas iand were looking for a hotel when we got to Lyndhurst. Just popped in and booked on the spot. Nice staff on reception and in the restaurant. Very good room overlooking the garden. Very tasty breakfast - altogether everything was fine. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Quiet room on ground floor overlooking garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017

I visited the Forest Lodge Hotel last weekend with my best friend and our experience was a real mixed bag. On arrival we were met with a very warm welcome at reception and were provided with some good walking routes nearby. The room was clean but the hotel was quite noisy as they had a lot of dogs staying so in the morning whilst their owners were eating breakfast, the dogs were barking all at the same time so it did sound like we were next to a kennels at points!

The dining experience at the Forest Lodge was again a mixed bag. On one day, the breakfast buffet was not stocked up for a long while and we had to chase up for everything (bread, butter, to be able to put in an order) but once the food arrived after quite a wait, it was to a good standard. It was just a bit frustrating as we wanted to get out and explore the area but we were waiting a long time. The evening meal was served in the same space as breakfast which is a bit lacking in atmosphere. I was told the glasshouse restaurant was not big enough to hold the number of guests apparently.

Top tip - The pool is a decent size but changing rooms are quite cosy so wear your costume underneath your clothes to make it easier for you!

Overall I would say this place has the makings of being good but it depends on the service levels you get when dining there. Not terrible but could be better given the price.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stayed for the third time here and we have always loved it. Rooms lovely and clean, pool lovely, staff lovely, location amazing, food lovely. But on Saturday night we waited an hour and a half for three meals to be served in the bar!!!! The food is always really good but it took so long to arrive. The staff were great, explaining that there were only two chefs for the restaurant and the bar, and that somebody had not shown up for work again. We really felt for them since they were rushing about non-stop and so apologetic, but wow we were hungry by the time the food arrived! I think they may need a few more of the fantastic staff!
Talking of fantastic staff, the lady on reception was great and very patient with our live-wire excited almost-four-year-old!!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveIm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Hotel is charming, located in a lovely part of the New Forest. Our food was delicious and the wedding went very well. However, the hotel needs updating and more staff. They let us check in early which was helpful. Bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back as the outside patio area can get very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillers1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Very much enjoyed our stay at the Forest Lodge. The staff were all lovely, the food amazing and the room comfortable. Great central point to tour around the New Forest. Very much enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna after a long day out on the bikes.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cherylljarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.4 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.8 km away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
851 reviews
4.5 km away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 km away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
444 reviews
10.7 km away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
744 reviews
3.4 km away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: ₹ 9,190 - ₹ 16,324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing