We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (944)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveller rating
349
354
146
75
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
354
146
75
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolglasshouse restaurantcellar barred letterbunk bedsglass housefamily roompeppa pig worldlovely hotelbooked this hotelbreakfast and dinnertravel cotpaultons parkwaterloo armsfour posterduty managerboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 944 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

I visited the Forest Lodge Hotel last weekend with my best friend and our experience was a real mixed bag. On arrival we were met with a very warm welcome at reception and were provided with some good walking routes nearby. The room was clean but the hotel was quite noisy as they had a lot of dogs staying so in the morning whilst their owners were eating breakfast, the dogs were barking all at the same time so it did sound like we were next to a kennels at points!

The dining experience at the Forest Lodge was again a mixed bag. On one day, the breakfast buffet was not stocked up for a long while and we had to chase up for everything (bread, butter, to be able to put in an order) but once the food arrived after quite a wait, it was to a good standard. It was just a bit frustrating as we wanted to get out and explore the area but we were waiting a long time. The evening meal was served in the same space as breakfast which is a bit lacking in atmosphere. I was told the glasshouse restaurant was not big enough to hold the number of guests apparently.

Top tip - The pool is a decent size but changing rooms are quite cosy so wear your costume underneath your clothes to make it easier for you!

Overall I would say this place has the makings of being good but it depends on the service levels you get when dining there. Not terrible but could be better given the price.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stayed for the third time here and we have always loved it. Rooms lovely and clean, pool lovely, staff lovely, location amazing, food lovely. But on Saturday night we waited an hour and a half for three meals to be served in the bar!!!! The food is always really good but it took so long to arrive. The staff were great, explaining that there were only two chefs for the restaurant and the bar, and that somebody had not shown up for work again. We really felt for them since they were rushing about non-stop and so apologetic, but wow we were hungry by the time the food arrived! I think they may need a few more of the fantastic staff!
Talking of fantastic staff, the lady on reception was great and very patient with our live-wire excited almost-four-year-old!!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveIm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Hotel is charming, located in a lovely part of the New Forest. Our food was delicious and the wedding went very well. However, the hotel needs updating and more staff. They let us check in early which was helpful. Bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back as the outside patio area can get very noisy
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillers1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Very much enjoyed our stay at the Forest Lodge. The staff were all lovely, the food amazing and the room comfortable. Great central point to tour around the New Forest. Very much enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna after a long day out on the bikes.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cherylljarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We spent 2 nights at this hotel, very good value for money, loved the breakfast and the evening meals were a good standard, with a good menu choice too.. this hotel is very well placed for all the New Forest attractions.. the staff were very welcoming and friendly, we will go back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews