We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful retreat well placed for lovely walks”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley
Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Triple aspect views from the vaulted and beamed open plan lounge/kitchen/diner.
Alfresco dining on the south facing balcony or watch the sunset with a glass of wine.
The french doors into the bedroom of Damson Cottage
Rustic styling on the solid oak doors
The Old Barns courtyard.
Sunset at The Old Barns
Local walks - in the early winter sun.
Local walks - accross the rape fields.
Lillies on our pond.
Fly fishing on the River Test.
Horsebridge - 1 mile along the Test Way (The John O'Gaunt pub can be found here)
The River Test at compton's fly fishing.
The Old Barns in the snow.
The River Test at Houghton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stockbridge, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat well placed for lovely walks”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Damson cottage is a great place to recharge the batteries . It is lovely and comfortable with everything needed for a self catering stay. It is on the Test Way and we had a fabulous walk into Stockbridge for Sunday lunch. Very tranquil, yet at the same time only 15-20 mins from Winchester .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. We are very lucky to have such fantastic places on our doorstep and we are spoilt for choice of good places to eat. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you would like to come and stay again. Kind Regards, Sarah and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynneblue
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT COUNTRY STAY”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had an excellent stay at Damson Cottage at the Old BArns. Warm welcome from Sarah and Rob on the day we arrived and kept us upt o date with local farmers markets and provided fresh eggs and milk for our stay. (We had the company of the chickens sitting with us on the patio).

The Old Barn is in a lovely location and we spent the night on the patio and balcony star gazing and taking pictures of the milky way. During the day we went out to Southampton (for the football) and later had lunch in a country pub and took a walk around the area.

The Barn is on split level with bathroom and large bedroom downstairs(bedroom has patio area) and kitchen and llarge iving room upstairs (with balcony). Well equipped kitchen and everything you need is there.

Would highly recommend, although not suitable for those who cannot climbs stairs as split level accommodation on ground and first floor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Country setting and surrounding area
Liked least: Wasps - but they didnt bother us too much
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay (and the company of the chickens) and so pleased that the sky was clear enough for your star gazing. We would love to see a couple of the pictures if you want to email them to us. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joqueenbe...
London
2 reviews
“Lovely, relaxing accommodation”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at The Old Barns and I dare say we'll be back again.
We love the accommodation, which is of a high and comfortable standard, and the owners are great. It was my husband's and daughter's birthday and they put up a banner, and popped some bubbles in the fridge, as a surprise.
The barns are well located for plenty of outdoor activities, so there's plenty to see and do.
Have already recommended the place to all our friends...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy bed, rolltop bath, large kitchen/dining area - fresh eggs from the local hens!
Liked least: Hard to think of something...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2015
It was lovely to see you all again and hope that you all enjoyed they birthday break. Hope to see you all again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great cottages, great time!”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at the Old Barns to attend a family wedding nearby and also popped into Peppa Pig World as we were so close! We rented all 4 cottages, it was great as we all had our own space but due to the interconnecting balconies then could also spend time altogether easily. Everything about the Old Barns was better than described, traditional barn features but everything you needed for a comfortable stay e.g. Microwave, dishwasher etc. location was fabulous, rural but a Pub was only a 1 mile walk down the river path! The owners were very helpful and available to help make our stay better in anyway possible! Would highly recommend, we all felt like we had been away on holiday for longer than the weekend it was! Thanks for a fabulous stay!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. IT is lovely to see a family group enjoying the property together. You had wonderful weather for the wedding and hope that the children enjoyed Pepper Pig World. Hope to see you all again in the future. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful country escape”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We just spent the weekend in the old barns and although the stay was short, it proved memorable for all the right reasons. Sarah & Rob have done an amazing job with the conversion of the barns and the attention to detail is spot on. Clean, comfortable and of a very high standard.

The setting is idyllic in this lovely part of the country. If you are looking for a country escape, you will be hard pressed to find better. With the river Test, wonderful walks, shooting and fishing all on the doorstep not to mention many fine country pubs, you will be spoilt for choice.

The family are lovely and go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. If you book here you won't be disappointed. Thank you for great weekend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation
Liked least: Lack of wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing