We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little Gem in a gorgeous location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley
Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Triple aspect views from the vaulted and beamed open plan lounge/kitchen/diner.
Alfresco dining on the south facing balcony or watch the sunset with a glass of wine.
The french doors into the bedroom of Damson Cottage
Rustic styling on the solid oak doors
The Old Barns courtyard.
Sunset at The Old Barns
Local walks - in the early winter sun.
Local walks - accross the rape fields.
Lillies on our pond.
Fly fishing on the River Test.
Horsebridge - 1 mile along the Test Way (The John O'Gaunt pub can be found here)
The River Test at compton's fly fishing.
The Old Barns in the snow.
The River Test at Houghton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stockbridge, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
natalieis...
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem in a gorgeous location”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I stayed at The Old Barns at the end of October with my mum and we were very impressed with the accomodation. We stayed in Cottage 1 which was the bigger of the cottages available. It was spacious and homely and the decor was to a high standard. Especially loved the bed and the bath was amazing! The views from the cottage were lovely and nice to wake up to every morning. We came with our 11 year old Golden Retriever and there were plenty of walks nearby for us to take him on along the Test Way as well as plenty of dog friendly pubs which was a massive bonus. Would recommend The Three Cups Inn in Stockbridge for food, a bit pricey but definitely worth every penny. The Owners were very welcoming and we even enjoyed a night with them cooking on their pizza oven which was fab! Will think of you guys when we are next staying in the area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It is lovely to hear such positive feedback and hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince B
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

You know when you find somewhere perfect and cannot wait to return, well this is it. Great hosts with the time to welcome you properly and they have made the cottages very stylish and comfortable.

We would like to keep it a secret from the rest of you but Sarah and Rob deserve commendation for the time they have spent making the cottages ideal to take a well earned respite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge,Bedroom,Kitchen and balcony.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It is so lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Even if other people hear about us I hope that your stay will always feel special. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutandAbo...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay with so much on the doorstep to enjoy”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We made a last minute booking and were fortunate they had had a cancellation. On arrival we were made very welcome and were shown to our barn. The accommodation was spotless and had a lovely balcony over the courtyard where we enjoyed a glass of wine before heading out for a walk. Unfortunately, the place we were heading to did not serve food that evening so we had a long walk back.

Only downside on arrival back from our walk was that the balcony had no privacy and we ended up with the neighbours on one side trying to join our evening.

The honesty box for essentials is a lovely touch as were the eggs.

It was just a shame our stay was not long enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, welcome by owners, cleanliness
Liked least: Balcony area can be accessed by neighbour - not ideal if not part of your group.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The balcony areas are normally quiet and people normally keep to themselves, but we are currently working on alternative outdoor seating areas, so hopefully you will always be able to find a private area to yourselves. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyme138
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding Accommodation in the Test Valley”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were welcomed warmly by the owners, nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to help us with any requirements we had during our stay. Great kitchen facilities, spacious lounge and dining area and the balcony is great when the weather is good. Lovely walks nearby. Very quiet and peaceful. Thoroughly recommend The Old Barns for anyone wanting a relaxing break in the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sun on the balcony !
Liked least: The rain !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely review.
We hope to see you again soon. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cees H
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A great little cottage”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

What a lovely place this is! A nice place to stay in the country, but not too far away from Winchester, Salisbury and the New Forest. The owners Rob and Sara are really very concerned with your wellbeing, providing milk and eggs on arrival and offering advice on what to do. Again, if you`re looking for peace and quiet, this is it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: laid back atmosphere
Liked least: the bed and mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. As you mention we are located less than 30 minutes from Winchester, Salisbury and the New Forest, so lots to see and do. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing