We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb Luxury”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Enjoyed a 2 night break at Chewton Glen to celebrate my wife's birthday and our anniversary.

Everything about this hotel is superb. The staff (especially Sam on Reception) were fantastic. Very welcoming and helpful.

The Spa facilities are great too. Very relaxing. And the outdoor pool.....great at 28degrees!

The beach walk is lovely as well. Very peaceful and relaxing.

Will definitely return. One of my favourite hotels in UK.

Thank you to everyone who helped make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaunConsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Although we haven’t had a great deal of outdoor pool weather of late, it is always warm when you actually get in and generally it is always quiet too which is an added bonus! We feel honoured to be listed as one of this reviewer’s favourite hotels in the UK and we look forward to welcoming them back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,332
    289
    117
    53
    18
See reviews for
424
949
29
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Stayed at the Chewton Glen last week and found it a fantastic place to stay. The room was massive, the bed was comfortable, the food was fantastic, the staff were friendly and the spa was great.

I really liked the small touches, such as the tray of nibbles on arrival, the friendlieness of the staff and being given some drinks and biscuits for our travels when we left.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Chewton Glen is undoubtedly not a cheap hotel however we like to think that we represent excellent value especially if our guests are able to make the most of the facilities. Specific reference to our friendly staff is always very rewarding and such positive praise makes everyones efforts worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

From the moment one entered until the moment one left, it was a delight to stay at Chewton Glen. The staff were assiduous, the ambiance just right ... a lovely mix of friendliness and formality....but not stuffy.

The Spa is world class and the restaurant, recently re vamped, merits a Michelin star. There is an atmosphere of elegance in the hotel, but a delightful lack of 'stuffiness'.

Children are made welcome and the facilities are great.

This place never fails to impress!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juridique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
We only started welcoming families to Chewton Glen fairly recently and I think every year we get better and better at it. We are delighted that this guests highlighted the fact that we make children welcome and that the staff have the balance right between friendliness and professionalism. Having recently re-launched the restaurant I am delighted that this reviewer felt that it deserves a Michelin star. Thank you for your kind words and please write to Michelin as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I spent a weekend with my wife in April 2010 and had an amazing weekend. The hotel was faultless, large rooms lovely touches all around the hotel and great service.

We have just returned from a 3 day stay with our 2.5yr old boy, as the hotel is very friendly to familes. On this stay we had an even better , more relaxed time.

Suite room was simply stunning, plenty of room for our little one to play while we could relax. The outdoor pool was well heated and perfect in the sun, as was the grounds to walk around in, with nice hammocks and tree swings dotted around.

The walk to the sandy is tranquil and sets up your stay at chewton glen.

Breakfast is very tasty and cooked perfect as you like, and food and service very good throughout our stay..

We would love to be there for christmas, as i expect it would be very magical, but will defenatly be back again later this or early next year. It really is our favourite place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osteoadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
We are thrilled to be declared this families ‘favourite place’ and delighted that they enjoyed this visit even more than their visit earlier in the year. Christmas is a wonderful time to come and stay as we have a magical house party and it would be wonderful if these guests decided to join the party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Just returned from our second visit this year. Once again stayed in a gold room which was well appointed. We love the extra touches in the room. Reception service was friendly and efficient. Breakfast in the newly renovated dining rooms was excellent - lots of choice both for the continental and full Hampshire breakfast. The croissants are superb.
However having stayed earlier this year we were very disappointed with the new restaurant where we had two dinners. One can no longer sit in the bar, enjoying a pre-dinner drink and perusing the menu. The menu can only be considered once at the table. The menu is extensive but several items on both the food and wine lists were unavailable. The food quality was patchy with several items being burnt. The extras we have come to expect when dining in a good restaurant were missing- no complimentary palate cleansers, very limited choice of bread etc. In good restaurants main courses come with vegetables that compliment the dish. Here vegetables are in many cases a necessary extra.
All in all the restaurant is well below the standard expected at a hotel of this quality which is very disappointing given how keen we were to return to Chewton Glen.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyleopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
It was disappointing to read that although this reviewer enjoyed all of the other elements of their stay, they did not approve of the changes we have made to the restaurant. We have purposely gone for a more relaxed approach as this is what the vast majority of our guests have requested. It is inevitable that not all changes will suit all guests however I am saddened that these return guests were underwhelmed especially as we have received such positive feedback from other regulars. We do encourage guests to order at the table however again most guests still enjoy an aperitif in the bar beforehand. Like many of the most popular London restaurants we have moved away from more formal and restrictive table d’hôte menus and instead offer an eclectic and cosmopolitan menu for guests to choose from. As all of the dishes are individually priced we no longer offer extras such as an amuse bouche and some dishes are complimented by side dishes depending of course on how hungry you are. Having said this it is unforgivable if certain dishes were unavailable or food overcooked and hence I would like to apologise for these shortcomings. We would value the opportunity to restore this guest’s faith in the restaurant especially as we are so proud of our new offering and with this mind we would love to hear from them directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
10.3 km away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,705 reviews
15.8 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,275 reviews
9.5 km away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,156 reviews
11.2 km away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
4.9 km away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,479 - ₹ 1,01,797
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EaseMyTrip and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing